Poblano Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Unbelievably rich! OK, so not unbelievable given how much cream and half and half it calls for. LOL. This soup has a back of the throat kick that you don't notice till about halfway through your first bowl. I actually found lobster base at the grocery store with the canned broth and bouillon cubes. It's "Better than Bouillon" brand, which is the same brand I use for chicken flavor. If you can't find the lobster flavor, I would at least substitute chicken base as it will ramp up the flavor without adding a lot of liquid like adding the equivalent amount of chicken broth. The chiles de arbol I found in the Hispanic aisle with the bags of dried shrimp and stuff. They were whole dried chiles, so I had to grind them up, but the whole bag was less than $2 so I didn't mind. After reading other reviews about the sweetness, I omitted the sugar altogether. I can't see that it would be needed with 2 cans of corn. Now that I have made the heart attack version, I will probably try using half and half and milk and see how that turns out. Also, I will add a LOT more shrimp, because I like shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Ok, I give this five stars AFTER a few changes: Personally I would add extra poblano as the flavor was not as strong as I would have liked. I will leave out the sugar altogether next time, the sweetness of the creamed corn was plenty. I also doubled the amount of kernel corn. I didn't have any idea where to get the lobster base or the chile d'arbol, so I just skipped them and can't say they were missed. I just used milk instead of half and half, it was plenty rich and thick that way. Overall, this is very good and has a nice combo of flavors going on. Ate it wish a lime-cilantro fish and some fresh tortillas and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Good stuff! I wasn't able to obtain all the ingredients, but made subs and it turned out great. Added more shrimp and started with 1/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Excellent flavor. The only thing I changed, was to add more corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Amazing recipe!!! This is so good. My husband requests it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great recipe. I didn't have lobster base or chile de arbol, but the soup still turned out fantastic. As with most soups it was even better the next day after the flavors had time to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banhel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
My family loves this recipe. When I make it I substitute fat free chicken broth for the heavy cream, I omit the sugar and I add more corn. It has a wonderful flavor and freezes well. I like to double the batch and freeze some for later. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe except for the optional lobster base. It was a little sweeter than I had expected. I think next time I'll use chicken stock, more peppers, be sure to add the lobster base and see how that works out. A good recipe to start with though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I made a simpler version of this and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Oh my goodness!! This exact soup is served at Chuck's Southern Comforts Cafe in Burbank, IL. It is an outstanding soup! I am so looking forward to making this and enjoying it at home. I think I'll take the other reviewers' suggestion on the chicken stock and cayenne substitutions. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States