Poblano Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
kinda disappointing. this oringinal recipe lacks flavor and i hate how people change the recipe entirely and then give it 5 stars. so, following the original recipe i only give it 2 stars. after adding my own i would give it 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Too much sugar--other than that, delicious...great consistency...you could easily add things to this chowder such as potatoes or more shrimp/other seafood...I would wait until the very end to add the sugar then you can add it "to taste"...milk and corn are already "sweet" in a sense...also it could definitely stand a lot more peppers. I put one and could've definitely put 2 more (seeded and diced) even just to add a little more color...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
So rich and creamy. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was so good, but I made changes. I used 2% milk instead of heavy cream and it was PLENTY thick. I used 3 cobs of fresh corn instead of a can, I used half the sugar, used vegetable base instead of lobster base and used shredded rotisserie chicken rather than shrimp. I was the best soup I have ever made and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is awesome...four men just demolished the entire pot. I used roasted chilies and cyan pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Pretty good chowder, it's kinda sweet, but yummy. I've made this a few times and after tinkering I found that I like this best without the sugar and omitting either the half and half or the cream (I just used what I have on hand, usually cream) to make it less sweet and heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Didn't care much for this it was way too sweet, my daughter liked it but then again she likes sweet stuff. I like corn crowder but not this one I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Unbelievably rich! OK, so not unbelievable given how much cream and half and half it calls for. LOL. This soup has a back of the throat kick that you don't notice till about halfway through your first bowl. I actually found lobster base at the grocery store with the canned broth and bouillon cubes. It's "Better than Bouillon" brand, which is the same brand I use for chicken flavor. If you can't find the lobster flavor, I would at least substitute chicken base as it will ramp up the flavor without adding a lot of liquid like adding the equivalent amount of chicken broth. The chiles de arbol I found in the Hispanic aisle with the bags of dried shrimp and stuff. They were whole dried chiles, so I had to grind them up, but the whole bag was less than $2 so I didn't mind. After reading other reviews about the sweetness, I omitted the sugar altogether. I can't see that it would be needed with 2 cans of corn. Now that I have made the heart attack version, I will probably try using half and half and milk and see how that turns out. Also, I will add a LOT more shrimp, because I like shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Ok, I give this five stars AFTER a few changes: Personally I would add extra poblano as the flavor was not as strong as I would have liked. I will leave out the sugar altogether next time, the sweetness of the creamed corn was plenty. I also doubled the amount of kernel corn. I didn't have any idea where to get the lobster base or the chile d'arbol, so I just skipped them and can't say they were missed. I just used milk instead of half and half, it was plenty rich and thick that way. Overall, this is very good and has a nice combo of flavors going on. Ate it wish a lime-cilantro fish and some fresh tortillas and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States