Poblano Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
excellent! i did just half and half, no whipping cream and i did less sugar as well. i like a little more "umph" to my soup so i added a little bit of carrots and red bell pepper as well. LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingwithpanda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
kinda disappointing. this oringinal recipe lacks flavor and i hate how people change the recipe entirely and then give it 5 stars. so, following the original recipe i only give it 2 stars. after adding my own i would give it 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Too much sugar--other than that, delicious...great consistency...you could easily add things to this chowder such as potatoes or more shrimp/other seafood...I would wait until the very end to add the sugar then you can add it "to taste"...milk and corn are already "sweet" in a sense...also it could definitely stand a lot more peppers. I put one and could've definitely put 2 more (seeded and diced) even just to add a little more color...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
So rich and creamy. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was so good, but I made changes. I used 2% milk instead of heavy cream and it was PLENTY thick. I used 3 cobs of fresh corn instead of a can, I used half the sugar, used vegetable base instead of lobster base and used shredded rotisserie chicken rather than shrimp. I was the best soup I have ever made and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is awesome...four men just demolished the entire pot. I used roasted chilies and cyan pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Pretty good chowder, it's kinda sweet, but yummy. I've made this a few times and after tinkering I found that I like this best without the sugar and omitting either the half and half or the cream (I just used what I have on hand, usually cream) to make it less sweet and heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Didn't care much for this it was way too sweet, my daughter liked it but then again she likes sweet stuff. I like corn crowder but not this one I'll try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Unbelievably rich! OK, so not unbelievable given how much cream and half and half it calls for. LOL. This soup has a back of the throat kick that you don't notice till about halfway through your first bowl. I actually found lobster base at the grocery store with the canned broth and bouillon cubes. It's "Better than Bouillon" brand, which is the same brand I use for chicken flavor. If you can't find the lobster flavor, I would at least substitute chicken base as it will ramp up the flavor without adding a lot of liquid like adding the equivalent amount of chicken broth. The chiles de arbol I found in the Hispanic aisle with the bags of dried shrimp and stuff. They were whole dried chiles, so I had to grind them up, but the whole bag was less than $2 so I didn't mind. After reading other reviews about the sweetness, I omitted the sugar altogether. I can't see that it would be needed with 2 cans of corn. Now that I have made the heart attack version, I will probably try using half and half and milk and see how that turns out. Also, I will add a LOT more shrimp, because I like shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States