Poblano Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Poblano CHICKEN Corn Chowder: i am giving this 4 stars only because i altered the recipe fit my eater's tastes a bit. my boyfriend does not eat seafood. this turned out fab! here's some of the changes i made: 1) replaced quart of half and half with chicken broth (there is noooooo need for 2 doses of heavy milks. let me tell u, my soup was CREAMMMYYY and my risk of using chicken broth was def a good one. i still used the heavy cream to make it thick as recipe stated). 2) replacing shrimp with chicken and i used a WHOLE POUND of chicken instead of the 1/2 lb of protein suggested in the recipe. def. did not overload the liquid. 3) i used 1 and a half poblano peppers (you could use 2 i'm sure, i just got nervous but next time i prob would just to use up the 2nd half of the pepper). 3) i could not find the chile de arbol so i substituted jalapeno power from the seasonings isle. 4) used 2 tablespoons of sugar, not 1/3 cup. that's it. my boyfriend and i enjoyed this at 3 meals! MMMMMMMM! i served it with croissants. best soup eVER! will DEF make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
In a word - incredible! I have made this twice now for my extended family on Christmas Eve and is the only recipe which when asked, I selfishly don't give it out! In a family full of amazing cooks, I have to have some secrets up my sleeve! Only hope they don't find it here:) They talked about it from one Christmas to the next! Only adjustments I make (other than to increase the quantities to make a couple of vats of it at a time) is to increase the chile de arbol. Also, last time I added the shrimp a bit too soon and they ended up a bit rubbery, so next time I will dice them much finer just in case, and will add them at the very last minute. I do use the lobster base. It wouldn't be the same without it!Thank you so much for this recipe, Naiveray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this dish over the past weekend for a dinner party/BBQ I had. I made it exactly per the recipe, using the Lobster Base and the chili de Arbol. This dish was fantastic! I've had requests for the recipe and have forwarded this link to them. 2 things I would change in the recipe is that I would add an extra can of corn or possibly cut fresh corn off the cob. I would like a little more corn in the corn chowder. The other thing was that it wasn't spicy. Maybe the pablano pepper I used was too mild, I think that the next time I make it I'll use a pablano (the flavor was excellent) along with a jalapeno pepper for heat. I highly recommend this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenacious D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is a good recipe, but it could use some tweaking. It's WAY too sweet and the cream/half & half component is unnecessary. Whole milk is sufficient. 2% might even work, especially because you're using a roux. Flavor is delicious, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
this recipe tasted like heavy cream. I added an extra pablano pepper and more spices and it still tasted like straight cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This stuff is AWESOME!!! Couldn't find chili de arbol or lobster base locally so I had to make a couple of substitutions, but it was still some of the best chowder of any kind I've ever had. I used a couple teaspoons of ground chipotle and a couple teaspoons of cayenne and used a bit of liquid from the canned tiny shrimp in place of the lobster base. I also added some minced garlic because... well because almost everything is better with garlic! I will use better shrimp next time, but otherwise this recipe (given the substitutions I had to make) is one of the best I've tried from here. Thanks for sharing!!! Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was a great chowder, but I made several changes to make it more "me". First, I used one yellow and one red onion. Added 1 bell pepper and a diced carrot. I sauted this together in olive oil and then added about 2 cups of vegetable broth along with one package soft tofu. Simmered for about 5 minutes then blended with an immersion blender. I used cumin, onion powder, garlic powder and a dash of chili powder, salt, and white pepper to season. I used two poblanos sliced into thin strips and added 1 can cream corn and 1/2 bag frozen sweet corn. Let all simmer for about 30 minutes then added 1/2 pint heavy cream. This cut the fat/calorie content down and still resulted in a delicious, creamy, and hearty chowder that my friends loved! Hope this review is helpful. Definitely a recipe to keep around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lone Grove, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I really enjoyed this chowder! It's thick and creamy and hearty (and perfect for a wintery snowy night like tonight!). I have to start by saying I couldn't find poblano peppers, chile de arbol, and lobster base. So I substitued jalapeno, chicken broth, and cayenne. The original ingredients are probably what gives it the heat. And yes, it is sweet - but not overpoweringly so - just reduce the sugar if you want a different flavour. Long and short - it was really good! Yummy and Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Do NOT use as much sugar as indicated in the recipe-it ruined the entire batch. I thought that was an odd addition but decided to follow it against my better judgement. I'll make it again but with many additions and subtractions to ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States