Poblano Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Man-oh-man this was good (and rich). And with a qt. of heavy cream and a qt of 1/2 & 1/2, it's also a cholesterol-raising heart attack in the making. I subsitituted the canned kernel corn with excellent, just-picked fresh sweet corn scraped from the cob. About 1 1/2 to 2 c of fresh kerne1s (for me, 3 large ears of corn) should replace the 15 oz. can. Why use canned at the height of corn season? I also threw the scraped cobs into the pot during Step 2 (after adding cream and 1/2 & 1/2). Infused it nicely with an intense corn taste. I wimped on the poblano - used a small one. I'll go bigger next time. Poblanos do get spicier the longer they linger, however. Due to the use of roux as a thickener, I think I may cut out some if not all of the cream next time and try whole milk, just to prolong my life span a little longer and see if it tastes close to the same. This was a big hit with everyone. Cream, 1/2 & 1/2, shrimp....what's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
VERY GOOD! I did substitute cayenne pepper for the chile de arbol and used chicken case instead of lobster base b/c it is not available here. Turned out fantastic! Everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is the recipe for the Poblano Corn Chowder served at the Sundown Cafe on Cheshire Bridge Road in Atlanta, GA. It was published in the AJC at a reader's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danika
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I think the servings might be a little off. I got about 15 bowls of soup out of this recipe. However, it was so good that it was probably only at 4 different sittings for 2 people each. Also, in an attempt to reduce the fat, I substituted whole milk for the heavy cream, and it was still pretty thick. All around...aces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Delicious chowder. Very rich. I followed the recipe exactly except for the poblano chile pepper. I couldn't find any at my grocery store, so I substituted a 4 oz. can of Old El Paso chopped green chilies. Ortega would work too. If you've ever had the Shrimp Chowder at Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, this is very, very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great recipe. I didn't have lobster base or chile de arbol, but the soup still turned out fantastic. As with most soups it was even better the next day after the flavors had time to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Banhel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Very good! I cut the recipe in half & I couldn't find lobster base so I used a cup of stock from a seafood boil & a cup of milk in place of the half & half (I was out)...worked really well but I will continue my quest for lobster base. I was also out of celery so I subbed a bit of celery seed for flavor & I cut back on the sugar some. It's Hatch chile season here in Texas so I used a Hatch chile instead of a poblano...I thought it still needed more heat so I added a tsp of hubby's hot sauce (it's HOT)...YUMMM! This soup is quite rich & very good...thansk Naiveray. I served it w/ a salad w/ vidalia onion vinaigrette, homemade french bread rolls & a glass of white zin...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Excellent flavor. The only thing I changed, was to add more corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Good stuff! I wasn't able to obtain all the ingredients, but made subs and it turned out great. Added more shrimp and started with 1/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Amazing recipe!!! This is so good. My husband requests it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States