Poblano Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
It does not need the sugar at all. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Lavold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I made this for a New Year's Eve party and people are STILL talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I make this all the time but have to admit that I have changed it considerably. I like it better with 32 oz. "box" of chicken broth plus a cup of cream or half n half. Two cans of creamed corn and a 16 oz. package of frozen corn, thawed first. There should be a sizable pile of chopped celery and onion, it looks like a lot but it's just right. I use jalapenos instead as my store doesn't have poblanos. I remove all the seeds and the whitish ribs and I've used as many as 5 peppers and it isn't that hot, it's the seeds that'll get you and stay with you. Also 1/2 t. cayenne and I put in a pound and a half of shrimp or as many as I can afford that week. I know, this is now a different recipe but what can I say, it evolved over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
It is too sugary for my taste. Leave out the sugar and add another pepper and I think it would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This soup was amazing. My sister is a much better cook than me and now I finally have a great recipe up my sleeve. Used just a touch less sugar as other reviewers suggested and used fresh corn. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Have made twice now and everyone loves it and asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
That's an awful lot of heavy cream! I'm rating the recipe as written, deducting one star for nutrition and one for margarine. My variation, created for a person with a shellfish allergy, omits the lobster base and shrimp (delicious as they are!), substitutes half-and-half for the heavy cream, and uses the dripping rendered from 4 strips of bacon with an equal quantity of flour (about 2 tablespoons) for the roux. Not sure if substituting bacon for artificially hydrogenated vegetable fat is healthier, but if you're going to risk clogged arteries, it may as well taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I only used 1 qt half&half and a pint heavy cream (the rest, chicken broth) and it was STILL too rich, so next time, more broth! I got no heat from the 2 poblanos, so added cayenne (didn't have c/d/arbol, jalapeno may do the trick, too). I reduced the sugar a bit (just add to your taste). The roux (flour + butter mix) kept clumping, so maybe I need to add earlier? I will add more corn next time too, and fresh cilantro was a nice garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Myers
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Favors were good...too rich for me and my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is an excellent recipe! I did make a couple of modifications: added an extra can of creamed corn, skipped the sugar, just used a pint of heavy cream and used half and half for the rest. I also put the shrimp in the food processor for the best texture consistency. Family raved about it - silky, full of corn and seafood flavor and a nice hit of heat from the poblano chile. Like the other reviewers mentioned, not exactly low-calorie, but absolutely delicious!! Take the advice of using the 'Better Than Bouillion' fish base - it definitely adds a flavor dimension that is well worth it. This recipe is a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEVDAWG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Super delicious! I left out the shrimp due to budget restraints and I added Rotels instead :) Definitely going to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States