Poblano Chile Pepper Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Fantastic recipe, only thing I done different was after roasting the peppers, I left the skin on and put everything into my Magical Butter machine for one hour at 180°, it was a great flavor and very fine texture. For sure going to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
My daughter-in-law makes this soup and adds chopped, cooked chicken breasts which makes a filling, nutritious dinner. She adds cumin, too. I noticed a comment that the soup was too hot with peppers. Poblanos are not that hot. I'm wondering if the wrong kind of peppers were used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Cincotta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
As others have mentioned, a good starter base to which you can experiment and add to. By itself to me it was really more like a spicy green enchilada sauce than a soup. Here is what I did extra - used 1 quart of chicken broth for the liquids and no milk. I made a proper roux of 4-5 tb butter and equal amt of flour to thicken, then put the roux, a cup or so of the broth, roasted peppers and half a can of corn and 3 minced garlic cloves and cumin into the blender to puree- mixed that back into the pot of broth with the rest of the canned corn, one can rinsed black beans, one can of fire roasted tomatoes undrained, and one shredded leftover chicken breast. Let it simmer and thicken about 40 minutes and then stirred in a few handfuls of shredded cheddar, 1/4 cup (about) chopped fresh cilantro and two chopped green onions and let that melt and meld for another 15 minutes. Hubby said it was a keeper that way, with many layers of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Not a "wow, I have to make that again" recipe. I added some pepper jack cheese and cream of chicken soup to elevate the flavor. It took quite a bit of salt. My husband wasn't impressed at first, then said the flavors grew on him. I can't say I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe! I used knorr chicken bouillon to make the broth and think i did not need any extra salt, i think i added about a teaspoon extra. It was so tasty and mine turned out more red as my peppers had red in them. I did not change anything else and was very pleased with result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Roasted peppers over grill. Saute onions and garlic. Then blended peeled peppers, onions and garlic in blender. Also seasoned w/cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Excellent. Be sure to remove seeds before roasting takes care of the heat from peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Absolutely delish! I even used fat free milk cuz thats all i had...and my first time roasting peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This soup is absolutely delicious. I did it exactly the same as the recipe the first time and probably will make it just like the most of the time.The flavor on its own is that good! However, this soup is so versatile you could add all kinds of things;beans, sour cream, corn, chicken, diced tomatoes. Making this again today as I am CRAVING it! Oh and so healthy!!! Did you know that chilis have more vitamin C in them than oranges? Yep, it's a fact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chile Rellenos Casserole

See a simple, shortcut version of cheesy chile rellenos.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States