Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
i have been eating + making excellente enchiladas since i was a kid so i know exactly how they should taste (its one of my favorite foods). being obsessed with enchiladas, i tried this recipe out and discovered that these enchiladas are the best i have ever made or tasted. SUPER GOOD and SUPER EASY, puts my enchiladas to shame. i wish i could have all of her recipes, this woman is a good chef. thank you for sharing this recipe with us, + please share more of your recipes with the world. xoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This was great. I made a few changes. I didn't fry in the tortillas in oil. I placed the chicken and some cheese in the tortillas, rolled them up and placed them in a baking dish, topped with the sauce and cheese. I placed them under the broiler until the cheese was golden-brown. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Soy del Sur de Mexico y nunca antes habia probado unas enchiladas con este sabor tan especial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Delicious! I couldn't find the chiles, so I used four cans of Old El Paso Green Chiles instead and they have worked beautifully every time. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Made this tonight, it was good but I changed it a little after reading the others' suggestions. I browned the chicken breasts before adding the water and threw in some salt, pepper and a little cumin. I skipped the tortilla-frying step as well, just warmed them in the microwave. When the sauce was simmering I added more salt; not enough though, the tortillas soak it up so next time I will keep this in mind. Like some others, I also put these in a baking dish and threw them in the oven for about 15 minutes (@350) to melt the cheese. The enchiladas had a good flavor but hardly any heat (spiciness), so next time I will probably throw in a jalepeno. This would be a great potluck dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Great recipe! Added half a cup of chopped cilantro and half a teaspoon of salt to the poblano mixture in the blender, as it seemed a little bland without it, and used pepper jack cheese rather than mozzarella. Served with refried black beans and chips. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Eiman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I am going to have to agree with every other reviewer. These were awesome!!!!! By far the most authentic enchiladas I have ever made and I would venture a bet that they're the best on this entire site. I followed the recipe to a T with one exception...after rolling the enchiladas, I covered them in sauce and cheese and then threw them in the oven for about 25 minutes. My mouth is watering at the thought of eating these for lunch today. Thanks, Olga...I plan on making these babies over and over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Yummy for my tummy! I really liked them...wasn't too sure about the sour cream sauce but it turned out suprisingly great. Good job Olga and good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
The enchiladas were delicious, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
While this could be phenomenal with some tweaks, prepared as written this involves a fair amount of effort in preparation for lackluster results. I was worried about the poblano pepper sauce being even a little too spicy for Hubs, but I needn’t have worried. I can’t believe I’m saying this, as Hubs and I have hyper alert taste buds, but even we thought this had very weak flavor. Forget about spiciness or heat – I don’t care about that. I mean nondescript, flat, dull flavor. Salt helped some, but even the garlic and onion I added to the sauce didn’t do much. Nor did a garnish of fresh chopped cilantro. In addition, we thought these were a little on the dry side and the mozzarella not the best choice for the cheese. Something with more character and complexity would have been better. Work with this to suit your tastes, as I believe the sauce in particular has great promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States