Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Incredibly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
The poblano chilies added an amazing flavor to these. I grew up in Texas and now live in Seattle and the 'mexican' food just isn't the same. These were authentic and restaurant quality. I did make some changes: In a separate bowl, I shredded the chicken & added sauce & cheese to make a thick paste. I tried using oil to soften the tortillas and that took way too long for me so I just threw them in the microwave with a wet paper towel on top. Roll chicken mixture in tortillas and place seam side down in baking pan. Add remaining sauce and cheese on top. AMAZING!!! It was kind of bland for my family's liking so next time I will try roasting a jalapeno with the poblanos or adding a can of fire roasted diced green chiles to the sauce. Thanks for the recipe - this one is a keeper FOR SURE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very nice recipe. I give it four stars because I didn't think the flavor was popping out. I fire roasted my pabalno's over the gas flame on my stove top, put them in a paper bag for a few minutes and peeled the skin off with paper towels, removed the seeds for wonderful tasting pablanos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This a close recipe to my own but kind of bland, no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I love enchiladas, and I had 4 Poblanos from my CSA so I was really looking forward to trying this. Meh. Disappointingly bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Wow, what great flavor these had but had to tweak to get it not so spicey. For the sauce I used 4 pablanos and 8oz of free-fat sour cream, and the 1 cup of chicken stock. To that, in the blender, I added 1/2 can fat-reduced cream of chicken soup, 1 can of drained sweet corn and 1/2 can of tomato sauce. This made it so that it was mild enough to serve to my very picky husband. I put a non-stick skillet on HI and sprayed each corn tortilla with Pam so that they were tough enough to roll with the chicken. I also put a bit of cheese inside each enchilada. Placed in a 9x13 casserole and poured a little more sauce over and covered in cheese. Baked at 350 for 15 minutes. I served it with Mexican Rice II from this site. Made a delicious meal. I put all my tweaks so if the 4 pablanos are too hot for you just follow the recommends I put in this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Very Good! My family likes very spicy food so I tossed in a couple of super hot home grown chiles that are similar to chile de arbol or japanese chile peppers. Serranos would work well also. I topped them with the melted cheese, chopped onion and slices of avocados. I will surely make this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Full flavor--especially great for poaching chicken. Added sprinkles of cumin, paprika, parsley, oregano, black pepper, squeeze of lemon/lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was delicious! I couldn't find poblano chilis, so I used jalapenos -- gave the dish quite a kick! I also popped this in the oven for about 5 minutes after they were rolled to let the cheese melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
these were really good! loved the flavor of the sauce. i usually make enchiladas verdes, with tomatillos. where i'm at, tomatillos arent cheap! this was definitely AS good as that recipe, for much less money and effort. i did a couple things different. i didnt use chicken, i used shrimp. so i didnt need to cook the chicken in the onion, garlic, broth mixture. i just put a cup of broth with some garlic and onion in my blender at the same time as the sour cream and peppers. used flour tortillas, and didnt fry them in oil, just warmed them up in the micro. i mixed up a little corn/blackbean salsa to go on the insides. 2 chopped plum tomatoes 3/4 can of sweet corn 1/2 can black beans 1/2 chopped small red onion 1 teaspoon lime juice salt and pepper mix all ingredients. put this, cheddar cheese, and sauce on the insides of the enchiladas with the shrimp, topped them with more sauce and cheese, baked for 30 min. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaPulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States