Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
We liked these. I added cilantro to the sauce, and wish I had added a little more of something, but I'm not sure what. Probably a jalapeno in the roasting stage; I think I'm comparing these to a recipe I tried with jalapenos and cilantro. In any event, I think I should've done the meat in the crockpot, because that's totally effortless and I'm all about effortless. I really liked this recipe's explanations for roasting peppers and also for frying the tortillas. Mine did not tear, and I have to attribute that to the hot oil treatment and not the sauce, because I had more filling than I needed, so I had to get out 2 more tortillas, and just dip them in the sauce, and those did tear. Thanks for the recipe, we enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Huge hit!! Even my 3 year old liked it. I didn't fry the tortillas. Instead I covered both sides in the chili sauce and filled with chicken, then I put them in a pan, covered with a little more sauce and a combo of mozzarella and pepper jack. Then I baked at 350* until the cheese was starting to brown. Next time I will increase the amount of chicken I cooked though, I thought they needed a little more. Definitely will be adding this to my cookbook! Thanks Olga! (Side note: I ended up having some sauce left over because I double the recipe. I saved it and we had it with some tortilla chips the next day. Yummy!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These enchiladas deserve ten stars. My partner of ten years, for whom I've been cooking steadily for ten years, announced these enchiladas to be the best thing I've ever made. They were unbelievably delicious. I added cilantro and cumin to the blender with the poblanos and other ingredients, and added several dried red chilies to crank up the heat. I also put shredded mexi-cheese inside the tortillas with the chicken, poured leftover sauce and cheese over the top and baked at 350 uncovered for 20 minutes. Let me be clear: these enchiladas are perfection. Absolute perfection. Will become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
These were the most awesome enchiladas! Even though I'm a spicy-food wimp (I buy the Mild salsa), and these were quite spicy, I loved them, and just chugged lots of milk to cool the heat. I had extra sauce, which was wonderful over some brown rice I made to accompany the meal, and even mixed in with scrambled eggs and potatoes the next morning for breakfast burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Really liked the sauce. Chicken was a little bland. I think they could use a little more inside to liven them up. May try the sauce with spicy shredded beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Really yummy., I used plain yogurt with a squeeze of lemon instead of sour cream because i didnt have any. Also, next time will use a sharper cheese, the mozz was nice but didnt have much kick. I added corn too. Note to self: be careful with the peppers next time, my fingers and knuckles are still in pain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Amazing! One of the best things I ever made. Pan frying the tortillas gived the dish a terrific texture. I saved time by boiling rotisserie chicken breasts in chicken broth and then shredding. I also put the whole dish under the broiler to melt the cheese. Serve this with fresh salsa and hot sauce and you will be happy, happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe tastes AMAZING, but it is a lot of work! I know it says 40 minutes at the top... but just blackening and letting the peppers sit is almost an hour. We really love this recipe, but it takes a long time for us to prepare and we would not consider it "easy" to make. It's not something you throw together! But again, it is absolutely delicious when we do make it (every 3-6 months or so). =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These were really great! My BF (who is a self-professed Mexican food expert) absolutely loved them! The sauce is especially good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mableton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Love this recipe! I noticed that a lot of people think that it is bland- it must have to do with the flavor of the poblanos. We used 8 small poblanos from our garden, and it was spicy and wonderful. After reading another review, we added a Mexican crumbly white cheese (Queso Cojita) to the mozzarella, and it was delicious. The cooking method for the chicken really seemed to make a difference. Chicken breast can be dry, but this was moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States