Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
These are "Oh my God, Good!" I cannot eat tomatoes yet love Mexican food. (Do you know how hard it is to find Mexican recipes without tomatoes!?!?) I was so excited to find this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and they were fantastic! My husband didn't say a word all through dinner... just kept eating and nodding his head. (That's a good sign!) The leftovers weren't quite as good as the tortillas were really mushy but it was still enjoyable! This is being added to my favorites list!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Awesomesauce = this recipe. Well, almost, because I changed a few things. First, I don't do boiled chicken, not ever, the texture is all rubbery and the flavor is so bland, so I made my chicken in the crockpot, dry roast style (chicken, 2 tbs. chile oil plus 1 tbsp. kosher salt, cook on low for five hours, then shred). Which meant I had to use broth I'd saved from my Thanksgvg Turkey. Also, I added 1 jalapeno and a nice squeeze of lime juice, awesomesauce. Sadly, I followed someone else's directions to make this casserole style and I loaded up the pan with the sauce, chicken, tortilla, shredded cheese layers and baked until brown. Wow, bad idea, Olga was right, just prepare each enchilada on the plate! I still ate some of the enchiladas, but the corn tortillas had turned to mush (like what happens if you leave a bowl of raisin bran to answer a phone call from your mom. Why does she always call when I'm eating cereal?) So, the second time, I made the chick, made the sauce (with minor, tasty changes) and plated each enchilada with a dollop of sauce and cheese for each individual serving. I had leftover sauce and chicken the next day so I served it atop a pile of couscous with roasted onions and garlic. This awsomesauce has many possibilities, I might try it with broiled coconut shrimp for dipping, atop smashed potatoes, inside of a veggie rice wrap with a spoonful of mango salsa. Cheers Olga, thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
These had a very good flavor (only my second Mexican recipe attempt). Mine had no heat whatsoever so I might add a jalapeno next time. I would also like to test these with the white Mexican melting cheese, but they are great just as they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
We liked these. I added cilantro to the sauce, and wish I had added a little more of something, but I'm not sure what. Probably a jalapeno in the roasting stage; I think I'm comparing these to a recipe I tried with jalapenos and cilantro. In any event, I think I should've done the meat in the crockpot, because that's totally effortless and I'm all about effortless. I really liked this recipe's explanations for roasting peppers and also for frying the tortillas. Mine did not tear, and I have to attribute that to the hot oil treatment and not the sauce, because I had more filling than I needed, so I had to get out 2 more tortillas, and just dip them in the sauce, and those did tear. Thanks for the recipe, we enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Huge hit!! Even my 3 year old liked it. I didn't fry the tortillas. Instead I covered both sides in the chili sauce and filled with chicken, then I put them in a pan, covered with a little more sauce and a combo of mozzarella and pepper jack. Then I baked at 350* until the cheese was starting to brown. Next time I will increase the amount of chicken I cooked though, I thought they needed a little more. Definitely will be adding this to my cookbook! Thanks Olga! (Side note: I ended up having some sauce left over because I double the recipe. I saved it and we had it with some tortilla chips the next day. Yummy!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These enchiladas deserve ten stars. My partner of ten years, for whom I've been cooking steadily for ten years, announced these enchiladas to be the best thing I've ever made. They were unbelievably delicious. I added cilantro and cumin to the blender with the poblanos and other ingredients, and added several dried red chilies to crank up the heat. I also put shredded mexi-cheese inside the tortillas with the chicken, poured leftover sauce and cheese over the top and baked at 350 uncovered for 20 minutes. Let me be clear: these enchiladas are perfection. Absolute perfection. Will become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
These were the most awesome enchiladas! Even though I'm a spicy-food wimp (I buy the Mild salsa), and these were quite spicy, I loved them, and just chugged lots of milk to cool the heat. I had extra sauce, which was wonderful over some brown rice I made to accompany the meal, and even mixed in with scrambled eggs and potatoes the next morning for breakfast burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Really liked the sauce. Chicken was a little bland. I think they could use a little more inside to liven them up. May try the sauce with spicy shredded beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Really yummy., I used plain yogurt with a squeeze of lemon instead of sour cream because i didnt have any. Also, next time will use a sharper cheese, the mozz was nice but didnt have much kick. I added corn too. Note to self: be careful with the peppers next time, my fingers and knuckles are still in pain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Amazing! One of the best things I ever made. Pan frying the tortillas gived the dish a terrific texture. I saved time by boiling rotisserie chicken breasts in chicken broth and then shredding. I also put the whole dish under the broiler to melt the cheese. Serve this with fresh salsa and hot sauce and you will be happy, happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States