Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I found this a little bland overall... the poblano & sour cream mixture didn't turn out very tasty and the mozzarella cheese didn't help. The dipping in the sauce - I don't quite get that too because the sauce didn't stick much to the tortilla. Next time, I would use cheddar instead and I would just roll the tortillas up, sprinkle some cheese on top, pour the poblano mixture on top and top with remaining cheddar. I might bake it a little just to melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
not a fan! After reading the recipe I was so excited as they sounded delicious. I was wrong! The chicken was bland and lacked flavor. I made these as directed but I did not fry the tortillas 1st. I baked for 10 minutes after assembled to melt the cheese. I love the flavor of poblano peppers but the sauce was also bland and lacking flavor. No one in my family liked these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was pretty good. The chicken cooked up to be delicious, but the mozzarella cheese really threw me off. Also, the sauce took a lot of prep, but wasn't really worth the flavor. Def. will keep the chicken cooking process, but scrap the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I've made this twice (in less than a week) and I love the simplicity and the flavour that this enchilada has. What I'm not liking is that the sauce is too thin for my liking. The first time I made it I used my vitamix blender to blend up the broth, peppers, and sour cream - This resulted in a liquidy sauce. Second time I left the sour cream out and then mixed it into the broth & pureed peppers...still liquidy not as bad. I think next time (and there WILL be a next time) I'll try a simple roux technique to thicken up the sauce but WOW this is GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I am eating the leftovers from last nite while I am writing this and they are even better the next day! I must say I couldn't find poblanos so I used a can of green chilis instead. I also used 4 chicken hindquarters that I did in the crock-pot and used the broth they made. I also used Monteray Jack cheese and assembled them like a lasagna instead of rolling them. They were ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!! I can't wait to try them with the poblanos! I will take these OVER and Over! Thanks Olga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Finally I have found an authentic Enchilada recipe with all the flavors that I remember from living in Oklahoma!! I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious however, it was not quite the texture that I had wanted. It was crunchier and I wanted the rolled tortilla to be firm but not crunchy.(Just because that is the texture I remember). On my second attempt I fried the tortilla until soft then added some of the pepper sauce into the chicken before rolling. The sauce needs to be heated first to warm the chicken. I put the rolled enchiladas in a 9 x 13 baking pan then heated the sauce until it was hot. At this point I added more of the chicken stock to get the sauce to the desired consistancy. Then I poured the hot sauce over the enchilada's and topped with the cheese. Do not bake, that is the secret. Serve immediatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is fabulous! I don't like corn tortillas, so I used flour. I put cilantro in the sauce as well like others had suggested. I dunked both sides in the sauce and then put chicken and mozz and monterray cheese in the middle. I then wrapped it up and poured the rest of the sauce over the top and baked it. I found that 350 for 15 minutes wasn't long enough so I increased it to 400 until it the cheese was bubbling. This is SUPER delicious especially when PIPING hot! I will be making this again! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Lilleskov

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
These were very, very good. Step 1 says to reserve one cup of the chicken stock and discard the rest, but don't. I got about 2-1/2 cups of stock, so I froze what I did not use rather than discarding it. Next time I make these, I can use some leftover deli chicken and a cup of the frozen stock, cutting the time it takes to make these way down. The boiled chicken seemed a little dry, so next time I might try shredding it instead of slicing it. Frying the tortillas was strange; even in a very hot pan, the tortillas just seemed to absorb the oil. Next time I may try non-stick cooking spray. As others have done, I put the finished enchiladas under the broiler for a couple of minutes (watching them carefully) to melt the cheese. Muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILAPPLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Wish they had more stars for this recipe! The only changes I made were: 1) added a chipotle pepper and a little bit of the adobo sauce they're canned in to the poblano sauce mixture to spice it up a little, 2) as another reviewer suggested, shredded the chicken instead of slicing it, and 3) put the enchiladas in a baking dish and baked at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes before topping with the cheese. I have now abandoned the chicken enchilada recipe I've been using for years - THIS is now my go-to enchilada recipe! Also, because it's easier and requires less clean-up, I used my immersion blender for the sauce, and it worked really great. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMY3600

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States