Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This the second time trying! I'M USING PORK THIS TIME! ADDED CUMIN AND 4 Oz Greene chili's to sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Wentz
Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Y.
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made this today for Hubby. He loved it. Not sure why the recipe would say discard the rest of the cooking broth. It seemed like such a waste. While my Chicken was cooling and Chilies were roasting I cooked down the broth to concentrate the flavors. I also used Jack cheese instead of Mozzarella. Cilantro and green onion for garnish..Yummy. Next time I'll add a couple of Roasted Jalapeno's with the Poblanos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Y.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Excellent!! I made a cheese enchilada version of this recipe with a few other adjustments. I roasted the poblanos as directed, then pureed them in a blender with plain greek yogurt (substituted for sour cream)and low sodium organic chicken broth. I put the poblano sauce in a skillet to simmer on LOW for ten minutes, stirring in 1 tsp sea salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/4 tsp cumin. I sauteed chopped purple onion with 2 cloves of minced garlic on medium heat until the onions were soft, then set these aside. If you want to add heat to this recipe, I think you could add two seeded and chopped jalapenos to the saute. For the filling, I combined 2 cups white cheddar with 2 cups sharp orange cheddar. I prepared white corn tortillas as directed, very lightly frying them corn oil. I dipped the a tortilla liberally in the poblano sauce, then filled with a small amount of the onion/garlic sautee and a liberal amount of cheese. Roll and place the seam down in glass pan. Pour remaining poblano sauce over the top of enchiladas, and liberally sprinkle with cheese. Top with one to two tablespoons of chopped cilantro. Bake at 375 for 15 to 20 minutes until cheese is melted. I wouldn't try to brown these as I don't want to scorch the yogurt-based poblano sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
While this could be phenomenal with some tweaks, prepared as written this involves a fair amount of effort in preparation for lackluster results. I was worried about the poblano pepper sauce being even a little too spicy for Hubs, but I needn’t have worried. I can’t believe I’m saying this, as Hubs and I have hyper alert taste buds, but even we thought this had very weak flavor. Forget about spiciness or heat – I don’t care about that. I mean nondescript, flat, dull flavor. Salt helped some, but even the garlic and onion I added to the sauce didn’t do much. Nor did a garnish of fresh chopped cilantro. In addition, we thought these were a little on the dry side and the mozzarella not the best choice for the cheese. Something with more character and complexity would have been better. Work with this to suit your tastes, as I believe the sauce in particular has great promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
My BF doesn't doesn't like spicy foods and he loved it. I thought it a bit too bland. After roasting and de-seeding, there was little heat in the peppers. Next time I may add a jalapeno, also it needed salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Myers
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Good start to a wonderful recipe. Add cilantro, 1-2 fresh jalepenos (depending on how hot you like), no mozzarella cheese, added taco seasoned mixed cheese, and grilled chicken versus boiling chicken in chicken stock (fresher taste). The first batch (adding no additional ingredients) was very bland but adding listed ingredients above and emerils essence the recipe turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
One of my favorite recipes I've found on here so far. The only change I've made is sometimes, instead of using just the poblano chiles, I've substituted one poblano for some Serrano or Jalapenos chiles to kick up the spice level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
These were really good. I followed the recipe, but I think next time I will add some cheese on top of the chicken before rolling. I also made my own tortillas. I will definately make this again. Thanks Olga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Great super simple recipe! I was a little dubious at first at how thin mine turned out but it was perfect. I have always softened my tortillas in a little hot oil before rolling them. This time was no different. This will be going into my rotation. OH! I didn't taste my poblanos beforehand which was a mistake. These were unusually hot. No mind blowing just hotter than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIANNASR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I love roasted poblanos and was looking for more ways to use them. This was pretty tasty, and I agree with everyone that the chicken preparation was particularly tasty. However, the dish as a whole was missing something for me. Next time I think I will try adding jalapeño and chopped cilantro to the poblano sauce for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States