Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
super delicious! Make just as recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This came out excellent!!! I didn't change anything in the recipe and even my picky eater husband loved this. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I think Mozzarella might not be the best choice for the cheese. I definitely have to try something else. This recipe ended up being on the dry side with no tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Thanks for this recipe. I noticed some people said this wasn't spicy enough. Leave in some seeds. It's all about the poblanos and how spicy they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
The poblanos give great flavor but the texture bothered me a bit. Maybe I didn't get the corn tortillas crispy enough before stuffing them? I also think they'd benefit from some green onion and maybe a more authentic Mexican cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
BLAND. Definitely needs salt. Didn't like frying the tortillas first. Would rather roll and then bake in a dish but with a different cheese. Did I say BLAND?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This the second time trying! I'M USING PORK THIS TIME! ADDED CUMIN AND 4 Oz Greene chili's to sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Wentz
Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Y.
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made this today for Hubby. He loved it. Not sure why the recipe would say discard the rest of the cooking broth. It seemed like such a waste. While my Chicken was cooling and Chilies were roasting I cooked down the broth to concentrate the flavors. I also used Jack cheese instead of Mozzarella. Cilantro and green onion for garnish..Yummy. Next time I'll add a couple of Roasted Jalapeno's with the Poblanos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Y.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Excellent!! I made a cheese enchilada version of this recipe with a few other adjustments. I roasted the poblanos as directed, then pureed them in a blender with plain greek yogurt (substituted for sour cream)and low sodium organic chicken broth. I put the poblano sauce in a skillet to simmer on LOW for ten minutes, stirring in 1 tsp sea salt, 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/4 tsp cumin. I sauteed chopped purple onion with 2 cloves of minced garlic on medium heat until the onions were soft, then set these aside. If you want to add heat to this recipe, I think you could add two seeded and chopped jalapenos to the saute. For the filling, I combined 2 cups white cheddar with 2 cups sharp orange cheddar. I prepared white corn tortillas as directed, very lightly frying them corn oil. I dipped the a tortilla liberally in the poblano sauce, then filled with a small amount of the onion/garlic sautee and a liberal amount of cheese. Roll and place the seam down in glass pan. Pour remaining poblano sauce over the top of enchiladas, and liberally sprinkle with cheese. Top with one to two tablespoons of chopped cilantro. Bake at 375 for 15 to 20 minutes until cheese is melted. I wouldn't try to brown these as I don't want to scorch the yogurt-based poblano sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
While this could be phenomenal with some tweaks, prepared as written this involves a fair amount of effort in preparation for lackluster results. I was worried about the poblano pepper sauce being even a little too spicy for Hubs, but I needn’t have worried. I can’t believe I’m saying this, as Hubs and I have hyper alert taste buds, but even we thought this had very weak flavor. Forget about spiciness or heat – I don’t care about that. I mean nondescript, flat, dull flavor. Salt helped some, but even the garlic and onion I added to the sauce didn’t do much. Nor did a garnish of fresh chopped cilantro. In addition, we thought these were a little on the dry side and the mozzarella not the best choice for the cheese. Something with more character and complexity would have been better. Work with this to suit your tastes, as I believe the sauce in particular has great promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States