Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
These were pretty tasty. I have never worked with fresh poblano peppers before and it was quite a process. I had to use my broiler, and being paranoid about them being too charred, I sat right in front of the oven for about 15 minutes turning them. My hand and arm got pretty hot before I thought to grab an oven mitt. LOL We also used flour tortillas instead of the corn as we don't like corn tortilla and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
Great A+++ recipe!!! However to satisfy all ages, I decided to use 4 TOMATILLOS & 1 sliced up pepper for spice with a little cilantro instead of the poblano chiles- it was delicious!! I also did not fry the tortillas, however you risk breaking the shell when you roll them up. So maybe I'll try frying them next time. Absolutely authentic, and delicious- 5 stars all the way! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I made 8 enchiladas and between myself and 2 teenage boys they were gone in a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Made this tonight, it was good but I changed it a little after reading the others' suggestions. I browned the chicken breasts before adding the water and threw in some salt, pepper and a little cumin. I skipped the tortilla-frying step as well, just warmed them in the microwave. When the sauce was simmering I added more salt; not enough though, the tortillas soak it up so next time I will keep this in mind. Like some others, I also put these in a baking dish and threw them in the oven for about 15 minutes (@350) to melt the cheese. The enchiladas had a good flavor but hardly any heat (spiciness), so next time I will probably throw in a jalepeno. This would be a great potluck dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
We used fat free sour cream and microwaved the tortillas first to soften instead of frying (we are on diets) and added some cumin. i thought this was awesome, but I would definetly make the sauce a day ahead. When we ate it the next day it was even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Our family loves great mexican food and have made some fantastic recipes for many years but this just didn't do it for us. It was lots of work for a just okay taste. My husband lived in southern California for several years and really loves Mexican food and asked me NOT to make this recipe again. My daughter and I agreed that the taste didn't merit a second time either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I tried this recipe on a whim, and I'm so glad that I did! It's delicious. I put my own little spin on it, though- instead of boneless chicken breasts, I used split breasts on the bone. I browned the chicken before I added the water, onions, ect. I then deboned and shredded the chicken. I fried flour tortillas, stuffed them, covered with the remaining sauce, covered with cheese, then baked for 25 minutes. What a great meal. Another recipe to add to my arsenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Another keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This was OUTSTANDING! I don't know how the previous reviewer thought these could be bland. I like VERY spicy and the 4 poblano's give it just the right kick! I've tried numerous enchilada recipes from this site and this is hands down the best! I also follow a previous reviewer's suggestion and once I roll my enchiladas, I pour the remaining sauce over the top, top with cheese and bake for 25 minutes. PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Berger DeRespinis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I don't know what I did wrong as I followed the recipe to a "t". This was the most bland thing of enchiladas I have ever made! I went out and bought everything to make for my husbands birthday and it was such a dud! I was very dissappointed as were everyone else that ate with us. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States