Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
These were ok; the poblano sauce tasted bitter to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Awesome, awesome, awesome! Used flour tortillas instead and baked in the oven for 30 minutes! Doesn't really matter what you do - its all in the sauce which is rich, buttery and FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Perhaps my expectations were too high for this recipe after reading the reviews! The chicken didn't have enough flavor so it made the whole enchilada kinda bland with the exception of the sourcream sauce - very yummy. Overall though I'd say they were OK. Must admit this was the first time I have actually cooked enchiladas so maybe I am to blame instead of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole1213
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Really good! I didn'y fry the tortillas but next time I will because they were getting too soft and falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I did not have pablano chilies so I used a can of green chilies, and this was still amazing! I did use a bit more cheese than called for and melted it in the oven for 5 minutes, but other than that I did not change a thing. I can't wait to try this with the pablanos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Fantastic recipe! It's a little time consuming, but worth it! The only change I made was to use chicken soup base instead of boullion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was pretty good! We used flour tortillas instead of corn. We bought a rotisserie chicken from the store and just shredded it. We boiled the water, garlic, onion, and bouillon and took out a cup, then tossed in the chicken and let it hang out in the mix while the peppers cooled. We tossed some spices (red pepper, chipotle) into the chicken mixture. We'll definitely add more next time, I think the chicken needed more flavor. I think the sauce was missing something but I can't put my finger on it. It was delicious but needed a little something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
My family loved this and requested it again less than a week later! I was a little concerned when I tasted the sauce that it would be too spicy, but once it was cooked on the enchiladas it was just right! Even my heat-avoiding daughter had seconds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is an excellent recipe, an awesome sauce! The sour cream works so well! One thing helpful for me is to cook a big batch of the chicken ahead of time, use some right away and freeze portions for later. Having the chicken prepared ahead makes this recipe quick without compromising flavor, I just heat it up with a tad bit of broth. Roasting the peppers is fairly quick and easy, I put mine under the broiler, turning a few times. I find this recipe simple. Some of the best recipes are! I have also played with different peppers with great result. This is an awesome recipe with lots of possibilities! I'm thinking chilaquiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paisley, Oregon, USA
Living In: Summer Lake, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I TRIED THIS RECIPE ON MY FIANCEE IT WAS REALLY GOOD AND HE LIKED IT AS WELL AND HE IS HARD TO PLEASE WITH HIS MOM BEING SALVADORIAN AND HIS FATHER MEXICAN. I HAVE EVEN TAKEN THIS RECIPE AND MAKE IT AS A TACO FILLING RECIPE WITH HOMEMADE CORN TORTILLAS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States