Poblano Chile Enchiladas a la Gringa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Fantastic! I've made these by the recipe, and I've also added spinach and mushrooms. Both were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
The taste of these enchiladas was great. The poblanos gives it a nice peppery flavor. I skipped the tortilla frying stage and that gave me hard time when I started rolling the tortillas, they were breaking apart. But I kept going and covered the whole thing with sauce and cheese and put in the oven like other reviewers had suggested. I will make this again following the recipe the the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
this was very bland to my entire family. it has potential, but would need a good bit of tweaking to become 5 star. I will not be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
These were ok; the poblano sauce tasted bitter to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Awesome, awesome, awesome! Used flour tortillas instead and baked in the oven for 30 minutes! Doesn't really matter what you do - its all in the sauce which is rich, buttery and FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Perhaps my expectations were too high for this recipe after reading the reviews! The chicken didn't have enough flavor so it made the whole enchilada kinda bland with the exception of the sourcream sauce - very yummy. Overall though I'd say they were OK. Must admit this was the first time I have actually cooked enchiladas so maybe I am to blame instead of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole1213
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Really good! I didn'y fry the tortillas but next time I will because they were getting too soft and falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I did not have pablano chilies so I used a can of green chilies, and this was still amazing! I did use a bit more cheese than called for and melted it in the oven for 5 minutes, but other than that I did not change a thing. I can't wait to try this with the pablanos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Fantastic recipe! It's a little time consuming, but worth it! The only change I made was to use chicken soup base instead of boullion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was pretty good! We used flour tortillas instead of corn. We bought a rotisserie chicken from the store and just shredded it. We boiled the water, garlic, onion, and bouillon and took out a cup, then tossed in the chicken and let it hang out in the mix while the peppers cooled. We tossed some spices (red pepper, chipotle) into the chicken mixture. We'll definitely add more next time, I think the chicken needed more flavor. I think the sauce was missing something but I can't put my finger on it. It was delicious but needed a little something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Enchiladas II

Make these family-pleasing chicken enchiladas.

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

The secret to these savory chicken enchiladas is the seasoning.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States