Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2004
GREAT recipe!! I shredded the chicken, rather than cubing it, to make it more authentic. Otherwise, followed same recipe. It was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Our whole family loved this one! Even my picky, picky kids cleaned their plates!!! We added 1/2 the cliantro and peeled the poblano's skin too. I only had 1/2 of the mozzarella so we added Monterey Jack for the rest of the cheese. Very Yummy......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBigler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
THIS IS AN EASY AND GREAT TASTING CASSEROLE. MY FRIENDS ARE ALWAYS REQUESTING ME TO MAKE THIS DISH AND MY DAD. WHO HATES CHICKEN, LOVES THIS TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encino, California, USA
Living In: North Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
This was excellent. I made several modifications because of ingredients I had on hand. I used 6 flour tortillas, 2 cups Monterray Jack cheese, and milk instead of half and half, no mushrooms or pablano peppers. Even with all the changes this was an excellent meal! My husband said this tasted like meals we had eaten in a restaurant. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I took the advice of others and altered this recipe slightly. So... I seasoned the chicken with fajita spice (made the mistake of not adding salt - the chicken really needs 1/2 tsp salt). I was worried that the peppers would make it too hot (used 1/2 the amount) - next time I would use all the peppers. I roasted and peeled the poblano peppers - before adding them - they added incredible flavor. I used jalapeno jack and cheddar cheese - and reduced the amount by half. Since I left out 1/2 the cheese the result was bordering on being dry. Next time I would increase the amount of sauce. The sauce was great with that hint of lime, but it needed 1/2 tsp of salt too. (Maybe reducing the cheese makes this recipe in need of salt?) The mushrooms didn't add much and I don't really think of them as fitting in a Mexican style dish - I'd leave them out next time. Lastly, for ease of serving I cut the tortillas into squares and lined the pan. Dad and 2 kids gave thumbs up, and ate it with green tomatillos sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Photo by DadWhoLoves2Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was awesome, highly recommend. I did use cumin and paprika as cooking the chicken to give it more of a mexican flavor and used half cheddar and half mozzarella to give more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
A great hit !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This is a good recipe. I made the chicken in a crockpot and guess what, no poblanos in my grocery store. I used some salsa and the liquid from a bottle of roasted red peppers. After it cooked and cooled, I shredded it and mixed in one can of jalepeno peppers, diced and some more roasted red pepper juice. It still needed something so I squeezed in a ton of lime juice and made the rest of the recipe as written. It was really good. I loved the cilantro sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I made this for a dinner party and it was so great all the plates were cleaned off. I did use low fat sour cream and fat free half and half and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States