Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Roasting the poblano peppers is a must-it adds so much extra flavor to the dish. A couple of people have said this was dry I doubled the sauce recipe and did not have that problem. I used three layers of tortillas and put sauce over each layer to keep the tortillas from sticking. My husband, who does not like chicken anything :), had seconds of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Awesome taste to this dish. I peeled the poblanos after roasting them and found this task difficult and time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franks and Beans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was a great dish. I halved the recipe for my husband and I. I used flour tortillas because I really don't like corn tortillas. I had to season the chicken a little. I used cumin and garlic powder. I added half a jar of salsa verde to the chicken and peppers. I didn't add the mushrooms - they didn't really seem like they belonged. I only used half a bunch of cilantro and I'm glad I did. It added great flavor to the sauce, but it was a little overpowering. Next time I will double the sauce to put it in both layers, but still only use half the cilantro. Don't be afraid to use all the peppers. I like spicy food and was afraid it would be too spicy, but it wasn't. We'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Ok, I admit I eyeballed all the ingredients but I'm still giving it 5 stars. I made this with two medium chickie breasts that I diced into bite-sized pieces, browned in butter with some taco seasoning, then added the peppers and garlic as stated. This turned out so good - Husband was literally licking the plate. Not sure how the leftovers will fare - the corn tortillas look really soggy. Oh well. Great recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
We did not love this dish. I had very high hopes and was very disappointed. The taste was very bland, and not at all spicy like I thought it would be. We ended up covering it in salsa for flavor. I should have taken the advice of others and used fajita seasoning. I don't plan to make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was really good! I don't eat meat, so I subsituted the chicken with onions and more mushrooms. It turned out well. I was pleased. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Really quite good! Not hot a my wife was concerned but a balanced mixture of flavors. I would even use more poblanos and maybe another jalapeno to amp it up a bit. Great recipe that can be tweaked to meet individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I thought this was a great dish the only thing I think it needed was more heat. I only used two of the jalpenos and I wish I had used all four I guess I was afraid. Next time I will add all four and maybe some seeds. I also don't think you needed the cream (or half and half) it would have been just as good with milk and light sour cream. And then you can save some fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I've been looking for this receipe ever since my dad died a 1 1/2 ago. Was delighted to find it here on this site. Made it for the first time today & it was wonderful. Had to make a few minor adjustments due to lack of proper ingredients; but it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I thought this was a very intersting way to make enchiladas. I have never seen them made with the half & half style sauce. To cut fat in the recipe, I used fat free chicken broth and only 1/2 Tbsp butter to cook the chicken.I also used fat free half & half and sour cream. very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States