Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Very good!! I used 2 Cups of Monterrey Jack Cheese, and 2 Cups of Mozzarella. Mozzarella doesn't have enough flavor, in my opinion, for a Mexican inspired dish. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This was an instant hit for dinner last night. Only a couple small changes: I dissolved a bouillon cube in the half and half and used a combo of dried cilantro and fresh parsley in the sauce. and reduced the cheese to only one cup. I skipped the tortillas and layered the chicken, cheese, and sauce over broiled slices of polenta. Top with a bit of hot sauce for serving and it was just amazingly different combination of flavors and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
We love this recipe and didn't change a thing. Confused by other reviews that added additional spices, and complained about lack of salt (um, easy enough to add if you're a saltaholic). The best part about this recipe is all the fresh ingredients. For those thinking it's lacking in flavor, make sure you use fresh juicy limes. It's the lime flavor that makes this recipe over the top. Additional spices would kill the fresh lime taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
the sauce could use some salt for seasoning. Worth trying again but next time I think ill use a Mexican blend or smoked mozzarella cheese would be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I shredded the chicken instead of cubing it. Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Stark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I'm giving it 3 stars as written. I could tell by just reading the recipe that I was going to need to tweak it. Of course, that's what I always do. First of all, I grilled the chicken seasoned with fajita seasoning and salt. A little canola oil and the lime juice. The sauce is pretty much a blank slate and you can infuse it with any flavors you want to suit your palette. I liked the cilantro and lime aspect of it, but it definitely needed more. Definitely salt (omitted from the original recipe maybe? But needed.). I also went with some cumin and fresh cracked black pepper. No mushrooms for me, but I did saute some onions and used chopped green chiles and tomatillo salsa instead of the fresh peppers. I also used shredded colby jack instead of mozzerella. Turned it into a 4 1/2 star dish, according to my family and me. But hey, unless you are baking, recipes are just guidelines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Rauch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
It took almost 2 hours to prepare everything, and had very little flavor except cilantro. One bunch isn't a very good measure. Also the pablano skin should have been removed first, it ends up looking awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
My husband loves Cilantro and loves mushrooms. He said these were the best enchiladas he's ever had. He's from deep south Texas where authentic enchiladas can be found on every restaurant menu. But he said he won't touch theirs anymore as long as I make these weekly! Very good if you don't mind mushrooms. I removed them before I ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Used leftover shredded chicken and added the peppers,etc. to the chicken. Also used cheddar cheese for the cheese. My family ate seconds of this and it was very easy to put together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Yum! Only made one change - substituted a can of green chillis for the jalapenos, as my boyfriend is a bit of a wuss when it comes to spice. We also used low fat sour cream as a small attempt to cut the fat. Overall delicious, even reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States