Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I took the advice of others and altered this recipe slightly. So... I seasoned the chicken with fajita spice (made the mistake of not adding salt - the chicken really needs 1/2 tsp salt). I was worried that the peppers would make it too hot (used 1/2 the amount) - next time I would use all the peppers. I roasted and peeled the poblano peppers - before adding them - they added incredible flavor. I used jalapeno jack and cheddar cheese - and reduced the amount by half. Since I left out 1/2 the cheese the result was bordering on being dry. Next time I would increase the amount of sauce. The sauce was great with that hint of lime, but it needed 1/2 tsp of salt too. (Maybe reducing the cheese makes this recipe in need of salt?) The mushrooms didn't add much and I don't really think of them as fitting in a Mexican style dish - I'd leave them out next time. Lastly, for ease of serving I cut the tortillas into squares and lined the pan. Dad and 2 kids gave thumbs up, and ate it with green tomatillos sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I've learned a couple of things, while making this recipe, that I'll do differently next time. First, I'll roast and peel the Poblanos before slicing them. Second, I'll shred the chicken as I'd like a more authentic texture. It's very rare that I prepare a recipe as written, and I did feel it was lacking a certain flavor, maybe I'll discover it next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My family LOVES this recipe, including my Grandpa-in-law who doesn't like anything new! I've made this many times for company and friends and have always gotten requests for the recipe. I do put in more poblanos (4-6), doubled the sauce, used 1/2 bunch cilantro, skipped the mushrooms since I don't like them, and added salt. I have made this with both flour and corn tortillas and prefer the corn with this recipe. Hope this helps. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This was pretty good. I used half the cilantro and the flavor was good... if I had used it all I think it would have been too overpowering. I also added onions to the mix - but onions go into everything I cook. My husband liked it also, so we will probably be making it again. I will probably add some more half and half to the sauce - it was really thick - but still tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was a great dish. I halved the recipe for my husband and I. I used flour tortillas because I really don't like corn tortillas. I had to season the chicken a little. I used cumin and garlic powder. I added half a jar of salsa verde to the chicken and peppers. I didn't add the mushrooms - they didn't really seem like they belonged. I only used half a bunch of cilantro and I'm glad I did. It added great flavor to the sauce, but it was a little overpowering. Next time I will double the sauce to put it in both layers, but still only use half the cilantro. Don't be afraid to use all the peppers. I like spicy food and was afraid it would be too spicy, but it wasn't. We'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I personally loved it, while once I added some salt and twicked it. I cubed the chicken before cooking and added about 1/4 cup of chopped onion to the chicken mixture. I also diced the tortillas up like I do for King Ranch chicken. I used an additional chicken breast too. I reduced the jalepeno peppers to 2 since they were huge. Used low-fat cheeses, butter and sour cream. My picky brother did not like it. Not for picky eaters. My favorite ingrediants are chicken, mushrooms, pepppers; so I love this recipe. Oh yeah I also changed the cheese to cheddar/monterray jack blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
i made this for our christmas party...wasn't very impressive...lacked a lot of flavor and was a little on the slimy side...won't make again, sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAMMELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Totally disapointing. With all those peppers I was expecting more of a punch with the chicken, but it was quite bland. The sauce was not that flavorful either. I am not a star chef so I am not sure what it needs, but it sure needs a pick me up. Mu husband said it wasn't that bad, but then proceeded to cover his plate in Tapatio. We will finish the leftovers, but I'll probably never see this one on my table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This is a good recipe. I made the chicken in a crockpot and guess what, no poblanos in my grocery store. I used some salsa and the liquid from a bottle of roasted red peppers. After it cooked and cooled, I shredded it and mixed in one can of jalepeno peppers, diced and some more roasted red pepper juice. It still needed something so I squeezed in a ton of lime juice and made the rest of the recipe as written. It was really good. I loved the cilantro sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was okay... but on the bland side. I can't put my finger on what this might need to make it better... the suggestions of onions would probably be a good start. Maybe even switching the cheese to a jack variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States