Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This is a good recipe. I made the chicken in a crockpot and guess what, no poblanos in my grocery store. I used some salsa and the liquid from a bottle of roasted red peppers. After it cooked and cooled, I shredded it and mixed in one can of jalepeno peppers, diced and some more roasted red pepper juice. It still needed something so I squeezed in a ton of lime juice and made the rest of the recipe as written. It was really good. I loved the cilantro sauce. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was okay... but on the bland side. I can't put my finger on what this might need to make it better... the suggestions of onions would probably be a good start. Maybe even switching the cheese to a jack variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
A great hit !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DadWhoLoves2Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was awesome, highly recommend. I did use cumin and paprika as cooking the chicken to give it more of a mexican flavor and used half cheddar and half mozzarella to give more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
this is so good! my family of 5 loved it which is saying a lot to get all good reviews by that many. i used double the cheese and added the fresh mushrooms and it was so good. i also used flour tortillas just because that's what we like. will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I took the advice of others and altered this recipe slightly. So... I seasoned the chicken with fajita spice (made the mistake of not adding salt - the chicken really needs 1/2 tsp salt). I was worried that the peppers would make it too hot (used 1/2 the amount) - next time I would use all the peppers. I roasted and peeled the poblano peppers - before adding them - they added incredible flavor. I used jalapeno jack and cheddar cheese - and reduced the amount by half. Since I left out 1/2 the cheese the result was bordering on being dry. Next time I would increase the amount of sauce. The sauce was great with that hint of lime, but it needed 1/2 tsp of salt too. (Maybe reducing the cheese makes this recipe in need of salt?) The mushrooms didn't add much and I don't really think of them as fitting in a Mexican style dish - I'd leave them out next time. Lastly, for ease of serving I cut the tortillas into squares and lined the pan. Dad and 2 kids gave thumbs up, and ate it with green tomatillos sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORA.V

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I found this recipe to be very bland and dry. I made up my own version of enchiladas a while ago, but thought I'd try something different. I'll definitely stick with mine. I even followed reviewers advice - adding salsa & chili powder to the chicken mix. I also added some cumin and green chiles. The white sauce on top is just much too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I personally loved it, while once I added some salt and twicked it. I cubed the chicken before cooking and added about 1/4 cup of chopped onion to the chicken mixture. I also diced the tortillas up like I do for King Ranch chicken. I used an additional chicken breast too. I reduced the jalepeno peppers to 2 since they were huge. Used low-fat cheeses, butter and sour cream. My picky brother did not like it. Not for picky eaters. My favorite ingrediants are chicken, mushrooms, pepppers; so I love this recipe. Oh yeah I also changed the cheese to cheddar/monterray jack blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
This was excellent. I made several modifications because of ingredients I had on hand. I used 6 flour tortillas, 2 cups Monterray Jack cheese, and milk instead of half and half, no mushrooms or pablano peppers. Even with all the changes this was an excellent meal! My husband said this tasted like meals we had eaten in a restaurant. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I cut this recipe in half, and garnished with Fresh Salsa I.....It was excellent. I'll probably use more peppers next time--i also used the full amount of mushrooms even though everything else was cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States