Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Ok, I admit I eyeballed all the ingredients but I'm still giving it 5 stars. I made this with two medium chickie breasts that I diced into bite-sized pieces, browned in butter with some taco seasoning, then added the peppers and garlic as stated. This turned out so good - Husband was literally licking the plate. Not sure how the leftovers will fare - the corn tortillas look really soggy. Oh well. Great recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
We did not love this dish. I had very high hopes and was very disappointed. The taste was very bland, and not at all spicy like I thought it would be. We ended up covering it in salsa for flavor. I should have taken the advice of others and used fajita seasoning. I don't plan to make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was really good! I don't eat meat, so I subsituted the chicken with onions and more mushrooms. It turned out well. I was pleased. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Really quite good! Not hot a my wife was concerned but a balanced mixture of flavors. I would even use more poblanos and maybe another jalapeno to amp it up a bit. Great recipe that can be tweaked to meet individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I thought this was a great dish the only thing I think it needed was more heat. I only used two of the jalpenos and I wish I had used all four I guess I was afraid. Next time I will add all four and maybe some seeds. I also don't think you needed the cream (or half and half) it would have been just as good with milk and light sour cream. And then you can save some fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I've been looking for this receipe ever since my dad died a 1 1/2 ago. Was delighted to find it here on this site. Made it for the first time today & it was wonderful. Had to make a few minor adjustments due to lack of proper ingredients; but it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I thought this was a very intersting way to make enchiladas. I have never seen them made with the half & half style sauce. To cut fat in the recipe, I used fat free chicken broth and only 1/2 Tbsp butter to cook the chicken.I also used fat free half & half and sour cream. very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Was a little disappointed in this recipe, had pretty good flavor, but wasn't as flavorful as hoped. Maybe adding some onion and cumin would have helped. Also one whole bunch of cilantro seemed to be too much, it seemed to overwhelm the whole recipe. Did not add the mushrooms, didn't think they really fit with a "mexican" dish, and didn't miss them. Will probably make again with some of my own changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Made this recipe for dinner tonight and it turned out pretty good. I followed some of the tips from previous reviews. Left out the mushrooms and added some of the roasted pablano pepper to the sauce. Sauce was too thick and needed salt. I will make this again with the sauce much thinner. Pretty good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
my family loved this w/ the following changes: insead of all butter, I used half olive oil. I roasted the poblano peppers, added half a diced onion and 1 t. salt. Amended sauce by using lo-fat half & half, added 1 t. salt, and used 3 c. of mixed cheddar, jack and asadero cheeses. Texans like heightened flavors, so the changes turned out to be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States