Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was pretty good, I added fajita seasoning to the chicken while cooking to give it more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
My family LOVES this recipe, including my Grandpa-in-law who doesn't like anything new! I've made this many times for company and friends and have always gotten requests for the recipe. I do put in more poblanos (4-6), doubled the sauce, used 1/2 bunch cilantro, skipped the mushrooms since I don't like them, and added salt. I have made this with both flour and corn tortillas and prefer the corn with this recipe. Hope this helps. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
It was yummy. I read the reviews before I cooked it so I took some advice from some of the other ladies. I doubled the sauce and my family loves spicy so i seeded only the poblano peppers, leaving the seeds in the other peppers. It was good. I really liked the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This recipe was good, but could of used a little more seasoning. To me it tasted a little better the next day. When you make this don't forget to add salt even though it dosen't call for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Roasting the poblano peppers is a must-it adds so much extra flavor to the dish. A couple of people have said this was dry I doubled the sauce recipe and did not have that problem. I used three layers of tortillas and put sauce over each layer to keep the tortillas from sticking. My husband, who does not like chicken anything :), had seconds of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Awesome taste to this dish. I peeled the poblanos after roasting them and found this task difficult and time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franks and Beans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was a great dish. I halved the recipe for my husband and I. I used flour tortillas because I really don't like corn tortillas. I had to season the chicken a little. I used cumin and garlic powder. I added half a jar of salsa verde to the chicken and peppers. I didn't add the mushrooms - they didn't really seem like they belonged. I only used half a bunch of cilantro and I'm glad I did. It added great flavor to the sauce, but it was a little overpowering. Next time I will double the sauce to put it in both layers, but still only use half the cilantro. Don't be afraid to use all the peppers. I like spicy food and was afraid it would be too spicy, but it wasn't. We'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Ok, I admit I eyeballed all the ingredients but I'm still giving it 5 stars. I made this with two medium chickie breasts that I diced into bite-sized pieces, browned in butter with some taco seasoning, then added the peppers and garlic as stated. This turned out so good - Husband was literally licking the plate. Not sure how the leftovers will fare - the corn tortillas look really soggy. Oh well. Great recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
We did not love this dish. I had very high hopes and was very disappointed. The taste was very bland, and not at all spicy like I thought it would be. We ended up covering it in salsa for flavor. I should have taken the advice of others and used fajita seasoning. I don't plan to make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was really good! I don't eat meat, so I subsituted the chicken with onions and more mushrooms. It turned out well. I was pleased. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States