Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My husband and I loved this when I made it! I halved the recipe since it's only us two, and we still had leftovers for a few days. It has a great lime flavor. Next time I'll make the whole recipe, plus some extra poblanos. (Roasted and peeled first next time). Also, I was scared of the jalepenos because I'm super sensitive to spice but I seeded them and they weren't spicy at all. Just added great flavor! What a great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Too much cilantro. We left out the peppers because neither of us like spicy. Added salt at the table which was greatly needed but don't know if that was because we didn't use the peppers. Otherwise it was ok. Not sure we would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
It was easy to make. My children loved it and asked me to make it again. I substituted more poblanos for the jalapenos. They are much less spicey. I also skipped the butter in the sauce and whisked the flour into the half and half before heating it. I used precooked chicken instead of the chicken breasts. As for the salt, I salted and peppered the white sauce to taste before layering the casserole. Next time I'm going to make extra sauce so I can add a melting cheese to the extra and serve it over chicken breasts. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Absolutely delicious. Unlike some reviewers that think it may need salt, most generally salt and pepper are ingredients that are added to taste. This was very flavorful and stood on it's own. Salt is added at the table on an individual basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Probably will not make this again, like other comments it definitely needs salt! I was really surprised by the lack of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a great dish for a cold night to warm and fill you, has everything, taste, lots of cheese, spice is good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
i halved the recipe- came out great even though i forgot to add the sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This recipe has become a family favorite. After making this a few times exactly as written (sans mushrooms and sour cream), I've made a few changes for convenience. I don't go through the hassle of roasting the peppers; instead, I buy a can of green chilis. I put cajun seasoning on the chicken, and in the sauce. I use chicken tenderloins, and they only need about 15-20 minutes to cook. I omit the mushrooms, because I can't stand them! In their place, I add sauteed onions. I use flour tortillas. Finally, I don't use cream; I use 4 cups of milk. It tastes just as great, but makes it a bit healthier. Delicious, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was so good! I followed the recipe mostly, but made a couple of changes. I added salt to the chicken and the sauce. I left out the mushrooms, because I just don't like them. I also threw in a little cumin with the chicken and a little in the sauce. You just can't have a Mexican dish without it!! I think this might be the missing flavor that most people can't put their finger on. Everything else was just as the recipe required and it was amazing! Next time I make this, I may add a few more peppers. I like it spicy. I can't wait to heat this up for lunch tomorrow!! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Our family loved this recipe - but I did make a few changes to it, to use what we had in the fridge and pantry to avoid an extra trip to the store! I used red/yellow bell peppers rather than poblanos and jalepenos, omitted the mushrooms (no one at our house likes them), used sharp cheddar rather than mozzerella, and used 3-4 ounces of sour cream instead of 2 ounces (light, rather than regular). I was surprised and delighted with the ease of putting this together, and the fact that my "modified Alfredo" sauce came out absolutely perfect, as I often have trouble with those. I would recommend using perhaps 18-24 corn tortillas, as mine seemed to disappear in the recipe, but it was delicious nonetheless. I also loved the fact that it was a time saver to make this casserole-style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States