Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Rave reviews. On advice of others I roasted and peeled the poblanos and shredded the chicken once cooked. I used a Mexican blend pre-shredded cheese. I cut back on the peppers since I have some tender palets to feed and instead made a tomatillo salsa verde to serve with to spice it up for those of us who like it hotter. I also cut the tortillas into strips. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Bland, Lifeless, not good, not bad, not anything really. There is definitely something missing in this recipe, with all those peppers I expected a little heat at least, but... nothing. I like the concept, but I don't even think this is a recipe I can doctor. I do like the concept of an enchilada casserole though, so I might use this is inspiration to come up with my own that's MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This recipe went in directly into the trash after dinner last night. There was no flavor other than the chicken. (how can you go wrong with chicken sauted in butter?) Sauce sounded interesting but did not coat other than where poured. Not spicy. I will find another way to use those extra tortillas in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEXSYD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My husband and I loved this when I made it! I halved the recipe since it's only us two, and we still had leftovers for a few days. It has a great lime flavor. Next time I'll make the whole recipe, plus some extra poblanos. (Roasted and peeled first next time). Also, I was scared of the jalepenos because I'm super sensitive to spice but I seeded them and they weren't spicy at all. Just added great flavor! What a great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Too much cilantro. We left out the peppers because neither of us like spicy. Added salt at the table which was greatly needed but don't know if that was because we didn't use the peppers. Otherwise it was ok. Not sure we would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
It was easy to make. My children loved it and asked me to make it again. I substituted more poblanos for the jalapenos. They are much less spicey. I also skipped the butter in the sauce and whisked the flour into the half and half before heating it. I used precooked chicken instead of the chicken breasts. As for the salt, I salted and peppered the white sauce to taste before layering the casserole. Next time I'm going to make extra sauce so I can add a melting cheese to the extra and serve it over chicken breasts. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Absolutely delicious. Unlike some reviewers that think it may need salt, most generally salt and pepper are ingredients that are added to taste. This was very flavorful and stood on it's own. Salt is added at the table on an individual basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Probably will not make this again, like other comments it definitely needs salt! I was really surprised by the lack of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a great dish for a cold night to warm and fill you, has everything, taste, lots of cheese, spice is good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
i halved the recipe- came out great even though i forgot to add the sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States