Poached Fish with Cucumbers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alta
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
My husband loved this fish dish, and he's not much for fish. I did make the cucumbers in sauce a bit different than listed to make it a healthier choice. I used FAT FREE (Yes, they make it) half and half instead of heavy whipping cream; then I added 1/2 cup of fresh diced tomatoes, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp dill weed, and I substituted sweet and spicy mustard instead of the plain mustard. I served the poached fish aside seasoned couscous and topped it with the cucumbers in tarragon sauce; I then topped that with some diced roasted red peppers for appeal. Thank you Dickie, for another way to use up my garden cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I did made a few adjustments to this recipe only for preference. First I used half and half, not whipping cream (trying to watch fat content a bit). I used dijon mustard instead of regular beacuse it's what I had on hand, and added 3 minced garlic cloves and dill weed to the sauce. I also threw in 2 diced roma tomatoes for the last 2 minutes of cooking. I poured the sauce on top of the fish for presentation. It was surprisingly wonderful. Cooked cucumbers can be very strange, but were completely fitting for this dish. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
The flavor was good, but it was too bland. I was excited when I saw this recipe, because I had all the ingredients on hand. The cucumbers were interesting, and I did like them, just wish the flavor would have been more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLASSGIRL25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is one of the best recipes for talapia I've tasted. It doesn't overpower the fish, has a nice, light appeal and tastes phenominal. And it's really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Yum, yum, yum! I followed the recipe except for using Dijon mustard instead of plain mustard. I also went a little heavy on the tarragon (dried) based on another review indicating that it was a little bland. We loved the results, and hope you do, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I tried this just as written the first time. WOW! No question this is a five star recipe. The only problem I've had with it is getting the texture of the cucum- bers right. That's a matter of practice. But the taste is wonderful and the preparation is simple. I would advise using a dry white wine as a sweet white cooks down and can make the fish too sweet (IMHO). I've tried this as written and tried it adding dill and garlic (per Bethy). I liked it both ways. Either way, I like it better with dill tartar sauce rather than tartar sauce made with sweet relish. Thanks to Bethy for the suggestions and many ,many thanks to Dickie for the recipe. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
We tried this recipe... it sounded good, but it didn't go over well with my family. We ended up with way too much sauce, and the mix of flavors just didn't seem to blend right for us. It was okay, but not spectacular, so unless you really like ALL of the ingredients, you might want to be cautious with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
good, easy, different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Olive Oil Poached Tuna

Ahi tuna steaks are gently poached in olive oil until perfectly tender.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States