Poached Eggs Caprese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Served this as one of our weekend breakfast specials at our restaurant and it was a Big Hit! The only thing we did differently is serving it on a home made english muffin which adds lots of yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milaminute

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I thought it was a wonderful new approach to poached eggs. I used this recipe all summer for my fresh tomatoes and fresh pesto. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I've made this three times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly, using skim milk/pre-sliced mozzarella, fresh homemade pesto, and the best off-season tomato I could find. I had a little trouble poaching the eggs in the simmering water but I finally got it right. ============ Overall, I thought the results were somewhat lackluster. Maybe it was my expectations: this recipe may have been "inspired by eggs Benedict" but despite the English muffin, this isn't even close. This is really a just a caprese salad on a poached egg. =========== The second time, I made a trip to the specialty store and bought a ball of real, whole milk mozzarella. Wow! What a difference that makes! I poached my eggs in my handy little poaching cups, and I topped the whole thing off with some easy, cheesy Bechamel sauce. This was awesome. All the different flavors really complemented each other and teased my taste buds with delight! ============ Last night, I made it a third time, using real Hollandaise. Now I think I've found the almost perfect dish. In a couple of months, when I can get a home grown tomato, then it will be perfect! A wonderful vegetarian alternative to eggs Benedict, and with some fresh fruit on the side and a mimosa to sip, the best brunch ever to treat guests or just yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by January

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I think we have a winner here. I made this for a Brunch. We had 10 people over for Brunch so I made 14 servings. I knew the taste of some of our guests and so I knew I was going to have to offer more toppings other than just the pesto. Also, 4 of them I left the tomato off, just in case and it's a good thing I did. I made the muffins and placed them on a heated platter. I did everything except put on the psto sauce. I made 6 sauces to go with them. The pesto sauce, a hollendaise sauce, a cheese sauce, a Italian flavored sauce, a cream sauce, and a salsa. Those I put into my old fashioned Lazy Susan with dipping spoons so each could top theirs with what ever they liked. Most of the guests took small servings of several sauces. The ones without the tomato, I put sausage/bacon patty. The guests ended up using the sauces almost as dipping sauces. Taking a piece of muffin and dipping it in a different sauce each bite. The muffins/cheese/eggs were a hit. The ones with the sausage and no tomato were a hit. The sauces were a hit. Gotta' tell you, it was one of my better offerings. If you want a winner, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I made my own fabulous fresh pesto to top the poached egg. The egg poached nicely, although it did take several extra minutes of simmering, & a gentle dunking to cook the egg white on top of the yolk. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was very tasty and reminded me a lot of pizza. I didn't have fresh tomato so I spread some canned chunky crushed tomatoes over a slice of french bread and then the mozzarella. The poached egg was bland and not cooked very well with that method though and I will go back to using my egg poaching pan with the egg poaching cups and cooking the eggs in butter instead. This method did not work well for me. The dish overall was fabulous though and more of a brunch or even breakfast for dinner meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I love poached eggs, so this was a real treat. Used multi-grain English muffins and fresh mozzarella. The cheese, tomato and pesto went really well with the eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I cooked these this morning for breakfast and they were delightful. I will definitely be using this recipe again. I actually used basil leaves instead of pesto because I wasn't up for making any and it tasted great as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GimmeThoseVeggies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I just used this recipe for the correct technique for poaching an egg and it worked perfectly! I poached 2 eggs beautifully the first time I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Poached is my favorite way of eating an egg so I was all about this recipe. As much as I love eggs benedict, this was a delicious change, not to mention healthier too. Thanks so much Yogin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States