Poached Eggs Caprese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I love poached eggs, so this was a real treat. Used multi-grain English muffins and fresh mozzarella. The cheese, tomato and pesto went really well with the eggs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This was very tasty and reminded me a lot of pizza. I didn't have fresh tomato so I spread some canned chunky crushed tomatoes over a slice of french bread and then the mozzarella. The poached egg was bland and not cooked very well with that method though and I will go back to using my egg poaching pan with the egg poaching cups and cooking the eggs in butter instead. This method did not work well for me. The dish overall was fabulous though and more of a brunch or even breakfast for dinner meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I have been making something similar to this for years. I made this exactly as written. I got an egg poacher that you use in the microwave that is fabulous. You can have a poached egg in 35 seconds and no dirty pan! I think the pesto sauce is to overpowering for the delicate egg moz and tomato combo. I think a fresh leaf of basil is all you need. With some modifications this could be a real winner- without the pesto. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I made my own fabulous fresh pesto to top the poached egg. The egg poached nicely, although it did take several extra minutes of simmering, & a gentle dunking to cook the egg white on top of the yolk. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I think we have a winner here. I made this for a Brunch. We had 10 people over for Brunch so I made 14 servings. I knew the taste of some of our guests and so I knew I was going to have to offer more toppings other than just the pesto. Also, 4 of them I left the tomato off, just in case and it's a good thing I did. I made the muffins and placed them on a heated platter. I did everything except put on the psto sauce. I made 6 sauces to go with them. The pesto sauce, a hollendaise sauce, a cheese sauce, a Italian flavored sauce, a cream sauce, and a salsa. Those I put into my old fashioned Lazy Susan with dipping spoons so each could top theirs with what ever they liked. Most of the guests took small servings of several sauces. The ones without the tomato, I put sausage/bacon patty. The guests ended up using the sauces almost as dipping sauces. Taking a piece of muffin and dipping it in a different sauce each bite. The muffins/cheese/eggs were a hit. The ones with the sausage and no tomato were a hit. The sauces were a hit. Gotta' tell you, it was one of my better offerings. If you want a winner, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I've made this three times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly, using skim milk/pre-sliced mozzarella, fresh homemade pesto, and the best off-season tomato I could find. I had a little trouble poaching the eggs in the simmering water but I finally got it right. ============ Overall, I thought the results were somewhat lackluster. Maybe it was my expectations: this recipe may have been "inspired by eggs Benedict" but despite the English muffin, this isn't even close. This is really a just a caprese salad on a poached egg. =========== The second time, I made a trip to the specialty store and bought a ball of real, whole milk mozzarella. Wow! What a difference that makes! I poached my eggs in my handy little poaching cups, and I topped the whole thing off with some easy, cheesy Bechamel sauce. This was awesome. All the different flavors really complemented each other and teased my taste buds with delight! ============ Last night, I made it a third time, using real Hollandaise. Now I think I've found the almost perfect dish. In a couple of months, when I can get a home grown tomato, then it will be perfect! A wonderful vegetarian alternative to eggs Benedict, and with some fresh fruit on the side and a mimosa to sip, the best brunch ever to treat guests or just yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by January

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is the first time I've made poached eggs. I was surprised that the egg was actually pretty good since I've never had one. But the tomato being thickly sliced that is all I could taste. I liked the pesto on it but I think the tomato should be thinner. And I had problems poaching the eggs in simmering water so I put it at a full boil and that worked much better. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I didn't have much luck with the method of poaching the eggs like stated so I poached them in full rolling boil like I usually do. Also, I toasted my muffin with the pesto and some cheese at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. I returned the eggs in the hot non-boiling water to stay warm and sliced the tomatoes. When the muffins were done, I continued stacking the muffins and added a little bit more cheese and a small amount of balsamic vinegar and olive oil. I know weird but if it worked for Insalata Caprese, why not this recipe too? Very tasty recipe. I don't think my 4 year old liked it very much but she's picky and ate only the cheese and tomatoes. :) Next time, I think it would taste alot better with fresh made pesto using fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Roasted Asparagus with Prosciutto & Poached Egg

See how to make a classic spring asparagus dish.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States