Plum Tomatoes with Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Wonderful flavor & simple to make. Used as garnish on turkey sandwich made w/ toasted ciabatta roll ( doesn't make a lot & we tend to eat bigger portions in my house). Subbed 1/2 tsp dried basil for fresh basil, & it was still scrumptious. AMAZING flavor the whole family enjoyed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very good and super easy! I added some cucumber to the mix and it made a nice salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I added 8 ounces of sliced baby bella and I doubled the dressing (including the fresh basil) so there'd be enough to dress the Baby Bella mushrooms. I really don't think it gets any better than this. I absolutely loved it. The family wasn't a huge fan but I didn't care--all leftovers became mine. It was SO good! NOTE: I cannot stress enough to use a quality balsamic vinegar. That will really make or break your salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was a great refreshing recipe! The only change I made was adding some fresh mozzarella. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This did not appeal to my taste buds at all because of the sugar and balsamic vinegar, but I knew Hubs might like it. I left out the sugar entirely and reduced the red onion substantially. Definitely olive oil rather than canola, and I wished I would have skipped the garlic powder. Also, balsamic vinegar is bold - I thought the amount called for was overkill, and adjusted the amount to taste so it was more subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I used homegrown tomatoes and a balsamic dressing that I had leftover from another recipe and wanted to use. Even with those minor substitutions I think my end result was what the submitter intended. Homegrown tomatoes, a good quality balsamic vinegar and fresh basil are key in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Really good! Great on top of salad! Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I didn't slice the tomatoes as shown in the picture - I used small grape tomatoes and left them whole. The fresh basil definitely makes this salad - I tried it first with just dried basil mixed in the balsamic vinaigrette, and then the next day with fresh basil and it was 100% better with fresh....a totally different salad. I have also tried itwith some grated (grated large) mozzarella cheese mixed in - really really liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I live in South Florida where we have a fast food chain that has a side called balsamic tomatoes. I wanted to have some balsamic tomatoes to go with a steak dinner that I was going to make. This recipe came pretty close to the one that we get at the restaurant. I let the tomatoes marinate in the dressing for close to two hours, they really soaked up the dressing and they came out pretty tasty. The recipe was fairly simple, I used dry basil and doubled to liquid to make sure all the tomatoes were covered so they could all soak. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Great salad! I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder. The fresh basil is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States