Plum Tomatoes with Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Wonderful flavor & simple to make. Used as garnish on turkey sandwich made w/ toasted ciabatta roll ( doesn't make a lot & we tend to eat bigger portions in my house). Subbed 1/2 tsp dried basil for fresh basil, & it was still scrumptious. AMAZING flavor the whole family enjoyed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Very good and super easy! I added some cucumber to the mix and it made a nice salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I added 8 ounces of sliced baby bella and I doubled the dressing (including the fresh basil) so there'd be enough to dress the Baby Bella mushrooms. I really don't think it gets any better than this. I absolutely loved it. The family wasn't a huge fan but I didn't care--all leftovers became mine. It was SO good! NOTE: I cannot stress enough to use a quality balsamic vinegar. That will really make or break your salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was a great refreshing recipe! The only change I made was adding some fresh mozzarella. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This did not appeal to my taste buds at all because of the sugar and balsamic vinegar, but I knew Hubs might like it. I left out the sugar entirely and reduced the red onion substantially. Definitely olive oil rather than canola, and I wished I would have skipped the garlic powder. Also, balsamic vinegar is bold - I thought the amount called for was overkill, and adjusted the amount to taste so it was more subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I used homegrown tomatoes and a balsamic dressing that I had leftover from another recipe and wanted to use. Even with those minor substitutions I think my end result was what the submitter intended. Homegrown tomatoes, a good quality balsamic vinegar and fresh basil are key in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Really good! Great on top of salad! Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I didn't slice the tomatoes as shown in the picture - I used small grape tomatoes and left them whole. The fresh basil definitely makes this salad - I tried it first with just dried basil mixed in the balsamic vinaigrette, and then the next day with fresh basil and it was 100% better with fresh....a totally different salad. I have also tried itwith some grated (grated large) mozzarella cheese mixed in - really really liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I live in South Florida where we have a fast food chain that has a side called balsamic tomatoes. I wanted to have some balsamic tomatoes to go with a steak dinner that I was going to make. This recipe came pretty close to the one that we get at the restaurant. I let the tomatoes marinate in the dressing for close to two hours, they really soaked up the dressing and they came out pretty tasty. The recipe was fairly simple, I used dry basil and doubled to liquid to make sure all the tomatoes were covered so they could all soak. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Great salad! I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder. The fresh basil is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States