Plum Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Because my plums were too sour to use, I substituted apples for the plums. It came out as a delicious dessert! The crust, in which I used butter in place of shortening, came out tasting like a rich shortbread, which is pretty much what it was. The filling was spectacular. The apples were soft and surrounded by their own thickened juices. It also was very appealing visually as well as in taste. I'll definitely be making this recipe again, maybe with plums or other fruit. It's very versatile, and I may use peaches next time. Whatever fruit I have on hand. I find that adding cinnamon and vanilla extract to the filling and vanilla extract to the crust also brings out the flavor well. I sprinkled a bit less sugar on the crust than it says in the recipe because my apples were rather sweet. This tart served 4 people, with a pretty big slice for each person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ObsessedWithTrees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I made this pretty much as specified but had butter available no shortening. Brushed crust with egg white. My plums were a bit tart so no one in my family wanted to eat this - it was way too sour - 3 tablespoons of sugar is not enough by any means. Used the same crust recipe and filled with apple pie filling - much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I doubled the crust recipe and threw in a jar of sliced peaches with the plums. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmm
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Holy goodness.... Had an abundance of plums I had to use and opted to try out this recipe. The plums I had were very ripe and very sweet so I went with the recommended 3T regular sugar in the filling, and topped with 1T raw sugar (larger crystals). It was a tart tart but hello... perfect deliciousness.... must put fork down...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I made this twice. Once with plums and once with peaches. Fabulous both times! I used butter for the pastry and added a little citrus juice, cinnamon, and a bit more sugar to the filling. I baked it in individual ramekins with a bit of crust on the bottom and top for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. Served with fresh whipped cream. Planning to serve it for a potluck at our house next month. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was my first tart and I thought it would be a lot more work. I used butter instead of shortening and added a bit of cinnamon to the filling. I did have to add more than 2T of water to the crust, and I ended up with a lot of plum goo oozing out (maybe my plums are unusually juicy?) but it was still a hit. As long as my plum tree has fruit this will be my go-to for summer potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
made this for my grandma's 95th birthday. I'm not a fan of plums so it's not my thing, but she went nuts for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I substituted 1/2 cup of white flour for 1/2 cup whole meal flour. Also used butter instead of shortening. It was DELICIOUS - the outside crust was a bit crunchy at the edges, and the inside was warm and gooey. Will definitely make again. p.s. you can skip the 1 hour refrigeration of the dough and just pop it in the freezer for about 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
it was very good but i had a hard time folding the crust up around the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Oh my gosh! This is THE BEST tart I have ever tasted! It was so good! I can't wait till dessert time! Very good, no doubt about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Outlaw_marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States