Plum Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I've made this sauce several times using apricot jam, my boyfriend and I love it. Not only a great dipping sauce, but a fantastic glaze for chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Five stars all the way, soooo easy, and had just the right amount of heat for us. This was the perfect sauce for Pot Stickers Traditional from the AR site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Came out absolutely delicious as is. I've used this on everything from baked potatoes to fried fish to chicken to pork to steak! It's delicious. It's sweet, spicy, and mmmmmm so good. When I worked as a waiter at a restaurant a few years back, my favorite dish was this pork with plum sauce. It was delicious and one of the most popular dishes at the restaurant. This sauce is very similar to that one. One thing I've modified however, is I first saute the garlic and onion in 1 tblsp of EVOO. I realized the recipe doesn't even call for oil, but I reflexively did it and it was a-ok. I actually prefer it that way because I first saute the garlic and onion, get all those yummy juice sizzling and then mix in the ham, vinegar, brown sugar, ginger, and red pepper. Oh and I also used rice vinegar instead because I wanted a more oriental cuisine taste from my sauce. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this for my spring rolls. I used a sugar free raspberry jam and 1 fresh, chopped, plum. The plum really relased juice as it boiled. I liked it a little chunky. This came out great. I used chinese hot sauce instead of the flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was really good with vegetable spring rolls. It does get thick as it cools, but can be loosened again by heating (personally, I kind of liked the thickness of it - many dipping sauces are rather thin). I used rice vinegar and cheap-ish store-bought plum jelly. The color is really cool, too (for those freaks that care about these things, ha). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is a great sauce for crab rangoons. I've made it twice. Someone commented that the sauce thickens up like jam when it cools, so you have to warm it up again. I encountered this too, so I added some pineapple juice to thin it out. I also used fresh, minced ginger and left out the minced onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEECGM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Served this over stirfry and brown rice, very very yummy. Could even let it thicken and serve as a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Absolutely delicious with Pork/Veal ball on a bed of wilted Bok Choy and rice...Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I fixed this to go with my Jalapeno Poppers. It was a great match together. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I was looking for a quick recipe I could make with what I had on hand. This worked perfectly and tasted excellent. I didn't have plum jam so I used a jar of multi berry preserve (cherry, blueberry and grape) and it still was very good. Probably even better with the plum jam. I gave it 5 stars for overall ease of making it, simple ingredients and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States