Plum Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I had some plums that were getting too ripe. I used them in this recipe to make the plum pudding. The plums that I used were about 3 inches in diameter. I used red plums. I followed the directions on the recipe and made some adjustments as were suggested in some of the reviews. I cut back on the sugar when cooking the plums with the tapioca. After it was cooked, I tasted the juice and thought it needed a bit more sugar. In all I probably used 3/4 cup of sugar in the plum mixture. The plums that I had were quite tart and may have been the reason I felt like it needed more sugar. It was suggested to cut the temperature in the oven by Kelinwa when baking the baking mix topping. I cut my oven temperature to 400 degrees and baked it for the recommended time. It was perfect, the topping was brown and just perfect. My husband and I both loved it. There was plenty of juice in it for me, and plenty of sugar in it for him:) Great recipe,I will definitely use this recipe again, thanks for sharing. Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I've never had (or made) plum pudding before, and this was excellent, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Not a "plum pudding" in the English sense, which is more of a cake. In traditional plum pudding, the "plum" is dried raisins. Oh, those crazy Brits! Gotta love em. This is a plum cobbler and pretty good at that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I really love that recipe. Will make it for our next Thanksgiving dinner. I folow some members advice and reduce the temperature when cooking the top. I put down at 300 F for 22 min and add 5 minutes at 350 F to get the top brown a little bit. I also add 1/4 tsp of all spices and it was really tasty. Do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
very easy recipe to follow and tasty. A little on the sweet side for us so next time will omit the sugar. Also agree with another review that it needs to cook a little longer for the tapioca to do it's thicking thing. I also added a tsp of Epicure pumpkin pie spice just for a twist. next time will try their lemon chiffon. Different, easy and tasty what more can you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
We enjoyed the flavor of this dish, and I was happy to find a recipe to use some of the plums from our tree. I replaced the water with the liquid that was produced from the thawed, frozen plums. I cut the amount of sugar in half. I really wish, though, that the recipe would've specified the size of plums to use or given a weight. My plums were small, so I ended up with way too much biscuit topping for the amount of plums. I will know to use more plums next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Because my nephews have allergies I made this recipe gluten and dairy free. I used a gluten free pancake mix for the top and instead of shortening used Earth Balance Soy free butter. The amount of water was too much, however, and I had to add more starch to thicken it. In place of regular milk I used rice milk and I must say you can't tell that anything was substituted for the original ingredients. Overall a fantastic recipe. I'd change the title to plum cobbler though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The fruit mixture needs to cook twice as long to become thicker. The baking mix topping also needs to cook twice as long. I also cut the sugar in half. All said and done, good flavor and raves from all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This is more like a cobbler than a pudding but it is the most delicious dessert I have eaten in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKWildflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very delicious and I will for sure be making this again! I used fresh plums that my neighbour picked for me (the little ones)Yummy! Since they were smallish I ended up using ~20. I cut the sugar down to 2/3 cup and it was plenty. I didn't have instant tapioca so I used what I had on hand - the pearl slow-cooking tapioca. Not a good idea as it didn't really cook through. I normally love tapioca and its a nice concept but I think next time I will omit that. I made a baking mix I found on this site (2 1/4 cup flour, 1 tbsp. baking powder, 3/4 tsp salt, 1/2 cup shortening. Mix dry indgredients, cut in shortening til crumbly.) Turned out wonderfully - except for the slightly chewy tapioca which was my fault!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States