Plum Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
THIS IS A GREAT JAM. IT IS EASY TO MAKE AND TASTE GREAT. I PUT THE PLUMS IN MY FOOD PROCESSOR AND CHOPPED THEM, THEN BOILED AND ADDED 2 BOX'S OF PECTIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
****PLEASE READ: I have made this twice now and both times it did not set. I think my mistake was not getting it get to a rolling boil and keeping it there long enough. Like candy this step is vital for it to turn out! I also upped the boxes of pectin to 2. ~ I decreased my sugar by about a cup and added a squeeze of lemon in the mix. I also like to add 2 cinnamon sticks while it simmers for a bit of spice,. The hardest work for me was de-pitting the tiny Japanese plums from our trees but my son helps. We absolutley love love love this jelly (thinner than a jam) The flavor is spicy-sweet & tart, at least with my plums and added ingredients. My son tells me not to give so much away so we can have more! lol.. This is now going to be a tradition to make every summer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Loved it, Came out well... I reduced the sugar to 6 cups. I didn't have issues with it setting; but I made sure to get it at the jelling point of 220.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Small batch - I made just 2 jars-worth... and instead of pectin i used cornstarch.. about a tablespoon per jar. I also added the pinch of lemon and a teaspoon of lemon zest. looks and tastes good. a little cloudier, but the color is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ensoleille
Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Loved it! First attempt at canning. Easy and delicious! Changed two things. Went with less sugar. 6 cups was plenty for us. Also, after cooking the plums we put them thru a strainer and removed the skins. We call it....jamelly!!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrskag307

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is lovely Jam....However I wish I had follwed the advice of other reviewers and cut back on the sugar. It is very sweet. I did use two boxes of pectin and didn't have any problem with setting.Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Hello everyone, I am the submitter of this recipe. I just wanted to make a little note, depending on how fresh your plums are is what determines the amount of sugar you need. As they ripen more they tend to lose some of their sweetness, therefore needing more sugar. I live in a small part of Alaska & we tend to get fruit that is near the end of its shelf life. For fresh plums I would suggest adding only 6- 6 1/2 cups of sugar. Thanks & enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe! I, too, had extremely sour plums (though perfectly ripe).... end of shelf-life, presumably. I ran a cup short of plums, so I added enough chopped apple to make the full 4.5 cups. Also added a smidgen more water to the pot, and a tsp. of cinnamon for good measure. Lovely colour, and jelled well. Would definitely make this recipe again, with plums only, when they come on sale again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Great directions and delicious. I used the food processor to chop the plums and they were quite liquid so I didn't add any water. My plums must have been really good, because I cut the sugar down to 3 cups and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Easy and soooooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley74

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States