Plum Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Small batch - I made just 2 jars-worth... and instead of pectin i used cornstarch.. about a tablespoon per jar. I also added the pinch of lemon and a teaspoon of lemon zest. looks and tastes good. a little cloudier, but the color is still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ensoleille
Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is lovely Jam....However I wish I had follwed the advice of other reviewers and cut back on the sugar. It is very sweet. I did use two boxes of pectin and didn't have any problem with setting.Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Loved it! First attempt at canning. Easy and delicious! Changed two things. Went with less sugar. 6 cups was plenty for us. Also, after cooking the plums we put them thru a strainer and removed the skins. We call it....jamelly!!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrskag307

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Hello everyone, I am the submitter of this recipe. I just wanted to make a little note, depending on how fresh your plums are is what determines the amount of sugar you need. As they ripen more they tend to lose some of their sweetness, therefore needing more sugar. I live in a small part of Alaska & we tend to get fruit that is near the end of its shelf life. For fresh plums I would suggest adding only 6- 6 1/2 cups of sugar. Thanks & enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Loved it, Came out well... I reduced the sugar to 6 cups. I didn't have issues with it setting; but I made sure to get it at the jelling point of 220.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe! I, too, had extremely sour plums (though perfectly ripe).... end of shelf-life, presumably. I ran a cup short of plums, so I added enough chopped apple to make the full 4.5 cups. Also added a smidgen more water to the pot, and a tsp. of cinnamon for good measure. Lovely colour, and jelled well. Would definitely make this recipe again, with plums only, when they come on sale again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Great directions and delicious. I used the food processor to chop the plums and they were quite liquid so I didn't add any water. My plums must have been really good, because I cut the sugar down to 3 cups and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Easy and soooooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley74
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
worked really well for me, I used 6.5 cups of sugar and my own sterilizing/canning method. I used 3.5 cups of almost ripe plum and 1 cup of blackberries, tastes great! I didn't add any water but mashed my fruits as I always do and pulled out some of the peels. Made 8 jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Good starter recipe. By adding an extra 1/2 cup of plums to recipe and cutting 1/2 cup of sugar you can increase the recipe to 12 half pint jars without losing any of the sweetness. I also used 2.35 ounces of pectin instead of the recommended 1.75 ounce. This thickened up the jam more. Also, to decrease foaming add 1 tablespoon of Lemon juice concentrate along with the butter. The Lemon Juice also helps remove air. Thank you for the inspiration DelightfulDines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGYPSY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Clyde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States