Plum Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I used yellow plums. It turned out so pretty! The taste is great. I wish it turned out a little thicker. I LOVE it on toast with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was a great old fashioned basic plum jam recipe,thanks for sharing! mine set just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I altered the quantities a bit to try and use a full 12- 8oz jar package. 6 3/4 cups of chopped italian prunes. Whole bag of sugar, about 9 cups according to package. 3 packages of Sur-Jell pectin. Cinnamon was nice as other people have mentioned! Turned out 10.5 jars worth. Expected, since I used a little less sugar than the recipe called for. Still very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Chamberlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paul & shari
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Love this recipe! Thanks for sharing! We tend an apple and plum orchard in NW Idaho and have yellow plums....so that's what we used! Those plus 6 cups of sugar and a dash of pure almond extract! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul & shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I think the recipe calls for too much sugar. I quadrupled the recipe and only added 12 cups. And at that it's almost too sweet. It's good though. Nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy Grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcmolliver
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This was my first ever attempt at jam and it turned out amazing! Our new home has 2 mature plum trees and I hated to see them go to waste as we couldn't eat them fast enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Whew, the growing season is winding down here in western Washington. A certain farmer friend blessed us with 15 gallons of plums. OMIGOODNESS. any how, this recipe is just what the doctor ordered. I like the jam/jelly texture. the flavor is great, color gorgeous. thanks for posting. My extended family will be very happy at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Great base recipe. I added 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp ground cloves for a little spice. I also cut the sugar and will cut further at my next try. Set up well as long as you bring it back to a full boil after adding pectin for 1 full minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Siebens
Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Also had trouble with it not setting. Read the reviews and last two batches added the pectin before the sugar, one with the fruit at the start, the other after the 5 min. boil. Both set up fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I have never changed a jam recipe until I read these reviews. I used both Italian and Santa Rosa plums combined to make 5-1/2 cups chopped, mixed with 1-1/2 packages Sure Jell. I added 1/2 cup water, tsp butter and tbsp lemon juice and cooked to rolling boil, then added 6 cups sugar. I have a laser temp gun and tried to boil till hit 220 degrees as reviews suggested, but gave up after it hit 200 degrees. Was fairly thin, but after water bath and cooling it set perfectly. Hubby loves it. Had bisquits with the jam this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States