Plum-Glazed Cornish Game Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I used chicken thighs. The pepper flakes and plum is an exciting flavor combination. Will make it again, and again with other bird parts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Amazing! My roommate and I love this recipe. Very easy. I've doubled the plum jam and mixed the opnion soup and red peppers (same amounts) in all together. Glaze 1/3 of the mix in the beginning, 1/3 an hour before, and save 1/3 (microwave for 30-45 seconds) for dipping sauce for the insides of the hens. Also good with peach preserves OR cherry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
These hens turned out amazing.,,,,best I've ever made,,,the tangy plum sauce gave it a great flavor. Most tender ever... fall off the bone,,, yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Melang

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I rubbed salt and pepper along with the crushed red pepper flakes on my hens before glazing them with the plum jam/onion soup mix. I was concerned about using the crushed red pepper flakes, but actually didn't notice them when eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We really enjoyed this! SO EASY and very few ingredients. Couldn't find plum jam so used red raspberry. Really delicious. I may use more crushed red pepper the next time, we like the zing. The only thing I did different was salt and pepper the hens before putting them in the slow cooker. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceankath

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was excellent, I had to use black cherry jam instead of the plum ( store did not carry plum), but the hen just fell apart from the bone, my husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Kollhopp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This simple recipe is over the top! I cooked the birds legs up and used four to keep them that way in the slow cooker. I cooked them all night long and the meat melted in our mouths. Next time, I'll try using the jalapeno plum jelly from one of the salsa websites. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I REALLY ENJOYED MY BEST FRIEND AND MOM LOVED IT. I WOULD NOT CHANGE A THING. - JUST4ME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I had to use a strawberry-plum-raspberry fruit spread instead of the plum jam, but it has still gave it that slightly sweet flavor. The chicken was literally falling off the bones in the crock pot by dinner time. I did turn the bird juices into a gravy by heating it more on the stove top and adding so cornstarch (that I'd already mixed with water to prevent clumping). After dinner I removed all the bones, skin and grizzle etc so that I can turn it into a biscuits and gravy with mixed vegetables and chicken for tomorrow night (my husband won't eat the same dish twice ... sigh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
One of my favorites so easy and so good very good idea for family visits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States