Plum Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by fruitytart
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I just tried this recipe out tonight. It took a little while, but was definately worth it! I will be sure to use this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fruitytart

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
The only thing I did differently was to make the sugar mixture a bit more interesting. I used some white sugar, but mostly brown sugar, and cinnamon and fresh-grated nutmeg and seasoned to my taste preferences. Some plums got a double dose of the sugar&spice mixture; by the time they were ready to get wrapped, they'd juiced up so some of the mixture had run out and I topped it up again (oh, the horror!). And that is the only thing I changed. The pastry worked out and despite some misgivings at when I first started mixing the ingredients together, the texture actually turned out perfectly. The next time I make this, it'll be with a couple of friends, or something. It's time-consuming and a fair bit of work, but oh man, so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great to see this recipe. I remember my Hungarian Grandmother making these and they were great!! I never thought I would find a recipe for them. Now I can hardly wait to try. Jane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Growing up we looked forward to plum dumplings in the fall. I found Italian plums at the market and wanted to make them. I couldn't find my moms recipe, but found one where the dough was made with farina instead of potatoes, and turned out just like mom's. This saves some prep time. Also we didn't pit the plums, which also saves time. Maybe they should be tested for tartness first though. I was looking for a recipe to tell me how to freeze them. Thanks I hope this works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very yummy! I found I could only get 13 dumplings with the amount of dough.My husbands grandmother made these when he was a little boy..only she served them with pancake syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is the exact recipe my grandmother had and did not pass down when she passed on ten years ago. I have been craving it ever since. I tried them last weekend and it was exactly as I remembered. These are one of my father's faves as well and I surprised him with them and he loved them. Not so much with the brown sugar. We just don't use that and use the butter and bread crumbs. Thanks so much for the person who posted this!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sewell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pitman, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This dough was the toughest, most untender dough I have ever made in my life! I'd made this recipe a couple of years ago( the last time my plum tree was loaded with fruit) and despite the fact that the dough was tough, my family loved the plummy juice interior. So, I decided to make them again this year. Well,,, after kneading the dough for close to an hour and still having a tough crumbling mess on my hands, I threw it out and found another recipe that used far more potato and much less flour. I had great success with the different dough. I also dont use the bread crumbs, instead I saute the butter and brown sugar and then add a good splash of liquor - slivovitz, kirsh, baileys or kahlua all work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Just a note, the picture shown is not how I cook my dumplings. Mine are served with a brown sugar, butter sauce. They are not crisp at all, and they do look sort of like flying saucers, fat in the center, with flat edges around the circle. Cyndi K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brecksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
These had GREAT flavor, but I'm convinced I did something wrong. The picture shows them almost crusty looking on the outside, and really round. Mine were flat like flying saucers, and while they tasted good they did not have a crispy outside. Any tips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This is so amazing it convinced me to finally sign up to this site, mostly just to say how amazing it was! :) i made some minor changes and a mistake somewhere- i used only half of everything (i was just looking for something to use the plums my gran couldnt finish, jst a few) so, instead of using 1andahalf egg yolks, i used 2; added a little vanilla sugar to the flour mix and a half tsp lemonjuice to the sugar in each plum; for some reason the dough behaved more like crumble so i added a little milk and eggwhite and it was all good. we usually just make these from frozen, here in vienna, but its expensive, they're experts here, and i didnt think theyd be as good but they were, and better!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States