Plum Custard Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Yum! Easy, quick, and so good! I've also made the version without custard, which was also good, but the custard makes it a little less dry and quite delicious. I preferred it cold. I also used half and half instead of whipping cream (that was what I had in the fridge) and it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My mother made Kuchen, always with fresh farm cream and fresh eggs. if you can get these I guarantee it makes a world of difference.. Paech, prune and any other soft type fillings work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Doubled the custard. It's a huge hit in our house when plums are in season from the farmer's market
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Utterly yummy with Satsuma plums! The color was great, and the crust really helped ground the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat e.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I've made this with plums and have also made it using peaches instead of plums. I follow the recipe exactly and it comes out great -- everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
YUM. I made 1/2 a recipe and sprayed the glass pan. The result was the cake/plums floated when I put in the custard. The mistake/result was very pretty though. The plums were on top giving it a nice color. I used 1/2 a can of store canned plums in my halved recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Yummy custard! I usually love my desserts warm but I really enjoyed these better cooled. The only thing I disliked about this recipe is the crust. Double the custard for sure. I also had a little bit of white chocolate chips left so I decided to melt them with the cream in the microwave before adding the rest. (fyi: my pic shows stacked)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I thought this was just ok. I just made 1 change, I used almond extract instead of the vanilla. Everyone else seemed to like it a lot, so I gave it the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is fantastic. Use Italian plums...these are better for cooking and provide the "tart" to balance the sweetness of the custard. I, too, doubled the custard as recommended and it worked great--just needed extra baking time. Next time I would only use 3/4 cup sugar in the custard, though. A whole cup was too sweet. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
The kuchen was alright, I don't think I'll ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States