Plum Custard Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Loved it! I halved the recipe and baked in a loaf pan, next time will follow other users advice and double the custard mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
The crust was a little bit too dry for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Dahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Loved it! I increased the amount of custard, as recommended by another reviewer, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
My friends mother made a plum kuchen when we were kids and nothing can beat her recipe but this comes close enough to earn my 5 stars! As far as the custard part of it...it's not supposed to have alot of custard which would, in my opinion make it way to rich. It is supposed to be a more simple, light dessert. That's the way she says they made it when she grew up in switzerland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice McDonnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
IF I make this again I would double the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I tried using both plums and banana for the fruit filling. i liked the banana much better. Also, I added almonds on top of the fruit and topped it with fresh whipped cream flavored with almond extract. it was a great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I couldn't find fresh plums in the middle of winter, so used canned instead and added the plums with custard at the end. It looked kind of ugly, but tasted good. I will try again with fresh plums when they are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
My friends mother made something similar when we were kids. Nothing will ever beat her original recipe which she made with more of a pie or tart crust but this comes pretty close so I have to give it a 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
I used Pluot Plums on the top. If your plums are getting too ripe - make this dessert. I used to make this dessert with a crumb topping - but this custard version is surprisingly good. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream. We all thought that it reminded us of deep dish rubarb pie. I guess it was the sweet and sour taste. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
A delicious kuchen if you prefer custard desserts, I thought it was better than the gourmet recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States