Plum Custard Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Reena Maharaj
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Very nice dessert which could be adjusted for a lot of different fruits. I doubled the custard - i also topped with a little sugar at the end and popped under the broiler for two minutes to make a creme brûlée type top. The cake underneath is more like a crust or a not-very-sweet cookie, but since the custard is sweet its ok. Made in a nine inch round pan since I don't have nine inch square - turned out fine just took a couple minutes longer to cook. Might consider a little cinnamon next time, or I like the idea a few people had of using almond extract instead of vanilla. I had to use half and half because thats what was in the house, but that worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Yum! Easy, quick, and so good! I've also made the version without custard, which was also good, but the custard makes it a little less dry and quite delicious. I preferred it cold. I also used half and half instead of whipping cream (that was what I had in the fridge) and it came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
My mother made Kuchen, always with fresh farm cream and fresh eggs. if you can get these I guarantee it makes a world of difference.. Paech, prune and any other soft type fillings work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Doubled the custard. It's a huge hit in our house when plums are in season from the farmer's market
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Utterly yummy with Satsuma plums! The color was great, and the crust really helped ground the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat e.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I've made this with plums and have also made it using peaches instead of plums. I follow the recipe exactly and it comes out great -- everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
YUM. I made 1/2 a recipe and sprayed the glass pan. The result was the cake/plums floated when I put in the custard. The mistake/result was very pretty though. The plums were on top giving it a nice color. I used 1/2 a can of store canned plums in my halved recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Yummy custard! I usually love my desserts warm but I really enjoyed these better cooled. The only thing I disliked about this recipe is the crust. Double the custard for sure. I also had a little bit of white chocolate chips left so I decided to melt them with the cream in the microwave before adding the rest. (fyi: my pic shows stacked)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I thought this was just ok. I just made 1 change, I used almond extract instead of the vanilla. Everyone else seemed to like it a lot, so I gave it the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States