Plum Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Soooooo the other day I was feeling awful and I asked my husband to go to town and get me some ginger ale and Tums. Sweet guy....he looked at me kind of funny but later he returned with the requested soda and three of the biggest honking plums I've ever seen in my life. Close to grapefruit size. I like plums in moderation but I dislike wasting food; hence, the hunt for a recipe that could use these monsters. I know there are a boat load of different varieties, so for this recipe I would have appreciated some guidance on how many cups of actual plum. I read all the reviews to give me an idea of what I needed to do in terms of altering the sugar to accommodate the taste of my fruit. For my version I threw in one small apple and a pint of frozen blueberries. I also used 2/3 of the butter in the recipe. The end product was extraordinarily rich and I could taste the salt in the topping. I'd make it again, though, with even less butter and maybe half the salt. Oh, and definitely serve with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I used a bunch more plums and a little cinnamon, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I added cinnamon and all spice. It's hard to judge the sugar. Either A. follow the recipe exactly and serve with ice cream or add sugar til the raw plums taste sweet which will probably be more if you have fresh plums from the tree like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I added some freshly grated orange rind and a little bit of grand marnier and served with ice cream. It was quite sweet and I might cut down on the sugar next time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I'll definitely make this again. The batter looked really strange and I was worried it wouldn't turn out, but it baked perfectly and tastes great! I cut the amount of butter in half (1/4 cup) and it's still very buttery. I might cut the sugar down next time, too. It's really sweet if you start out with sweet plums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katydid
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I wanted to in corporate oats into the crust so I halfed the flour and added quick cooking oats in replacement. I also used brown sugar instead of white sugar an omitted the egg. It made for a more visually appealing dessert and was absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I made mine with purple Pluots, and my husband said it was the best dessert I have ever made for him! I cut the sugar by 1/3 cup and it was delicious. Great with ice cream and great with milk for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was my first time eating/making a recipe with plums in it, so I wasn't sure how I'd like it. I loved it! This recipe was very easy to make and was sooo good. It was sweet and tangy and the topping is delicious. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Didn't have enough plums and used some frozen blueberries. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I LOOVVVEED this! Ive since used this topping on my other crisps. I did as others suggested and put some vanilla and a bit of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBadSeed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States