Plum Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This is absolutely delicious served chilled with ice cream or english custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Easy and delishious - I reduced the sugar, and served with icecream... excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WURGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Easy enough to make, and looked great. But the taste was a bit strange -- too lemony, perhaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Great recipe to use up extra plums! This was really quick to prepare and tasted great to boot. I love that there is no oil or butter in this recipe. I agree with the other reviewer that 1 1/2 tsp of lemon rind is a bit too much, 1 tsp is plenty .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I made this for company and it was very easy and good. I did reduce the lemon peel as suggested. I liked that it wasn't too sweet and had a texture similar to creme caramel, which is a favourite. What made it really good was topping it with a plum sauce my husband made with our remaining fruit. He cooked pitted plums down with a bit of water and then sweetened it to taste. Served warm, it was divine. I actually made it again the next day, to see if it was that good, and it was. I am going to try this recipe using apples, brown sugar and a caramel sauce. Stay tuned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
My family loved this recipe! It came out ery well and tasted delicious with whipped cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I make lots of this every August when my backyard plum tree is heavy with fruit. A generous slice with coffee is my perfect early-autumn breakfast. I don't usually have lemon zest around so I leave that (and the salt) out, and use only 4 tbl sugar total, and often substitute wholewheat or buckwheat or soy for half the flour, and it's always wonderful. Looking forward to trying it with herb-infused milk this year. Maybe rosemary. Thanks, Marion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This was okay ... I found it took much longer to cook than written, but the flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This was pretty good. I used apricots and blueberries instead of plums, but I likes the clafouti. It is like custard/cake and is really good for breakfast because it isn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I'd never made or eaten clafouti before, so I can't rate it on authenticity. It was ok -- firmer than a custard and softer than a cake. Definitely needed more sugar in the batter. I don't like desserts that are too sweet, but this was barely sweet, and I even used tree-ripened home grown plums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States