Plum Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I was so nervous about trying this recipe, but it was SO easy and I've never made any dessert that wasn't of mix from a box. I used about 6 California Red Plums and they were amazing. When you got to the plums and they opened the color inside was bright orange- a really pretty summer dish. The cakey part is almost spongelike and very light. I paired this with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream and a dollop of homemade whipped cream. After laying the halved plums, I sprinkled some brown sugar over the plums as well as reg. sugar. Also, before you put the whole thing in the over, try sprinkling some cinnamon over it. It made the top crust a little darker and so much better. The sprinkled confection sugar on top isn't necessary and neither is the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made this recipe when I had a ton of plums from a local farm (about the size of the O in an OK sign you make with your hand) and this couldn't have been an easier recipe. It's not overly sweet and would go great with ice cream. The only annoying part was de-pitting the plums, but what can you do. The custardy consistency becomes more solid after the first day, so this is best eaten soon after baked. Edit- I wanted to add I've made this several times since I made the first one, and without fail, everyone loves this, ESPECIALLY newly out of the oven. I basically use whatever stone fruit I have in the fridge, plus occasional raspberries/blackberries/strawberries. Make some whipped cream and man, breakfast of champions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I needed to use up some Italian plum preserves from last season and thought I'd give this recipe a try. I drained the syrup off the plums and skipped the step of sprinking sugar on the bottom of the pan and on the plum layer. I also used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. Though I am sure it is better with fresh plums, we still enjoyed it very well with canned prunes. This is a nice, not-too-sweet recipe; a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Very easy to make, and very yummy!!! Omitted the lemon zest (it's only for smell anyway) and didn't exactly measure the powdered sugar on the top. We have a plum tree in the backyard that has a ton of plums so this was perfect! The plums are difficult to halve and pit, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was pretty good - I added a little extra sugar (plums are too sour for my husband's taste)... but we decided it was better cold the next morning for breakfast than it was warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Pretty good, definately better warm. Wasn't quite rock my world good, so not sure I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
just okay for me. I love bread pudding but this was alittle too eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Easy, beautiful and delicious! I had a couple plums sitting in my fruit bowl that didn't look so fresh anymore, so I wanted to cook 'em somehow. I didn't know what the heck a clafouti was - but it's custardy fruity pudding. I liked the eggy part a lot, and next time I'm going to have some more of it. I'd scaled down the recipe to two servings, which used less than one egg, so I used one medium-small egg. I'm also going to try more fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
WONDERFUL!!! Added a bit more sugar, and it still wasn't super sweet at all. I loved this and even my chocolate-preferring family thought it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States