Plum Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Stunningly different! We had some plums that were getting a bit iffy. And this recipe turned them into something that my kids loved. My 14yo gave it 20 stars. Easy to make because you only use a blender to whirl the stuff up and pour it over the fruit that you've cut up into the pan. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Simple and quick to throw together, eagerly gobbled up by my family. What more can you ask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I'm so glad I gave this recipe a try; I'd never come across a baked good like this before, and wasn't sure what to expect. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and it was very easy to prepare. Warm from the oven, or room temperature - it was great. Thanks for sharing a winner! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Clafouti is a French dessert and can be used with other fresh fruits. My French mother-in-law always makes cherry clafouti's and they turn out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I think mine wasn't done quite enough. I gave it 50 minutes (at least) in the convection oven. Maybe I did something wrong along the way. It tasted great and the bottom was a really good pasty crust, but the whole thing didn't hold together too well. I used greengage plums which might be sweeter than the italian variety, so it was sweet enough without adding more sugar. I'd never heard of clafouti (nor had my dinner guests), so it was a little scary making it the first time, but it's worth it to try it again, since we have an abundance of plums this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Tasty recipe but it needed more sugar as my plums were very tart. This recipe is good but taste your plums raw before adjusting sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is so good and so easy. It looks and tastes like it came from an elegant French bakery! Adults loved it; kids not so much (because it's not super sweet and has a sophisticated texture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlisJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opheim, Montana, USA
Living In: Polson, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Excellent Clafouti. I made mine using fresh cherries. Yum!!! You can substitute with just about any fruit and it will come out delicious. The batter taste very custardy....delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I was so nervous about trying this recipe, but it was SO easy and I've never made any dessert that wasn't of mix from a box. I used about 6 California Red Plums and they were amazing. When you got to the plums and they opened the color inside was bright orange- a really pretty summer dish. The cakey part is almost spongelike and very light. I paired this with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream and a dollop of homemade whipped cream. After laying the halved plums, I sprinkled some brown sugar over the plums as well as reg. sugar. Also, before you put the whole thing in the over, try sprinkling some cinnamon over it. It made the top crust a little darker and so much better. The sprinkled confection sugar on top isn't necessary and neither is the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made this recipe when I had a ton of plums from a local farm (about the size of the O in an OK sign you make with your hand) and this couldn't have been an easier recipe. It's not overly sweet and would go great with ice cream. The only annoying part was de-pitting the plums, but what can you do. The custardy consistency becomes more solid after the first day, so this is best eaten soon after baked. Edit- I wanted to add I've made this several times since I made the first one, and without fail, everyone loves this, ESPECIALLY newly out of the oven. I basically use whatever stone fruit I have in the fridge, plus occasional raspberries/blackberries/strawberries. Make some whipped cream and man, breakfast of champions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Raspberry Pain au Chocolat

These raspberry chocolate croissants are elegant and delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States