Plum Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this with regular plums (not Italian ones) and lime zest instead of lemon. It turned out great. The flavor and texture strongly reminded me of sweet pancakes with plum syrup. Maybe that's how a clafouti is supposed to taste?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
While some clafoutis are more cake-like in texture, this one is more of a creamy custard / pudding. The plums are a nice change from the more traditional cherries (not to mention they were much easier to pit) and I'm sure other seasonal fruits would work just as well -- apples, pears or even cranberries. Quick to whip up using common pantry items is a bonus, too. Thanks GibsonsGirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This recipe was super simple and super delish. I had regular red plums which are bigger than prune plums, so I only used 10 of them. I also used a tart pan instead of the pie pan. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I made it for unexpected company and it was a perfect desert. Sweet but still light enough to make it a perfect summer treat. Everyone loved the clafouti. I will put it on my must make again list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traveler1157

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larryali
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Had lots of organic plums to use up. Turned out great. A bit like a Dutch Baby pancake. I substituted 4T fructose for the 6T sugar. came out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larryali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
The most time-consuming part of this is pitting the plums. Besides that, this is delicious. I used 1/3 cup spelt flour (whole grain) and 3 tbsp. total sugar. The tart plums are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This turned out well, but I don't think I'm a huge fan of plums or clafouti. This was my first time making clafouti, and it's very eggy. Hubby said it tasted like French toast! Anyway, it was good, but not for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
It was ok. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This recipe is great with extra plums. I admittedly, tried it when nectarines and other fruit in the middle and had plums around the edge and plums definitely make it the best. The top browned deeply and firmed really fast so I got confused about the timing as it says 'until firm and lightly browned.. however it wasn't properly cooked. It is also wise to properly halve the plums (I know it says this, but I didn't do this) so that the plums are sortof peek out the top almost. There was a little too much batter I think :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meganeloise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
My husband loved this! I was given eight cans of plums so went looking for recipes. Mine was done in 35 minutes though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States