Plum Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly - looked pretty and smelled great. Tasted ok. I think the plums need to be really ripe and sweet for this to work. Otherwise the Clafouti part was delicious. Not sure if I will make this again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Added a bit of extra sugar because I was worried about our super tart plums and left out the grated lemon peel because I didn't have it. Shouldn't have added the extra suger. Next time I will make it just as the recipe says... and I will be making it another time. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Lovely flexible recipe - I did find that 375 was too high as mine scorched a little...have already passed this recipe on to my sister - great way to use fresh fruit! Took less than 50 min to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made this with Pluots, instead of plums, and coconut sugar (which is low glycemic) which made it a little less sweet. This is an easy recipe to make and the results are wonderful -- mine puffed up and browned like a professional dessert. I also topped it with brandy laced whip cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Belen, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is a wonderful custard dessert. Topped with a little whip cream (to help cut the tartness of plums). The kids didn't like it but hubby and I ate the whole thing. Yummy cold or hot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Easy and excellent. Our plums from the farm are always a bit tart for this (esp. With added lemon zest) so I find we either need to cut a bit of zest, use more sugar on them, or serve with vanilla ice cream to cut the tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
The classic French formulation is more of a custard than a cake so I reduced the flour by half (and I've seen recipes that use as little as 3 T ;-) and got the results I desired. Served warm with cream, this is one of our favorite breakfasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzy
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Delicious! What a nice way to use Italian plums that are a litte past their prime. To me, it tasted like a plum version of the traditional French Clafoutis, made with black cherries. I was surprised to find that the plum/lemon zest/cinnamon combo really worked well. Don't change a thing when you try this for the first time. You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This is so simple , great way to use plums. Love it with the plum sauce instead of sugar. Like a little more cinnamon, but other than that its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Super simple and what a lovely dish. I served it at room temp the day of baking. I made it in a 9 inch pie plate and dusted it with powdered sugar. It was a hit, everyone loved it. It wasn't overly sweet, it was a nice balance and the tartness of the pear skin was a cleansing taste. I didn't use as much cinnamon, just a hint in the background. I think the Italian Prune Plum and lemon zest was a perfect pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States