Plum Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I have made this recipe for years, though I seldom use plums (only because I don't have a plum tree yet). Plain apple or combo's such as apple and berries (raspberries, saskatoons or blackberries all work well. If using berries, place them in the dish first or at least press them down below the surface of the liquid or they tend to burn. Tonight I've tried apple and rhubarb. I increased the sugar just a tad because of the rhubarb. We eat this warm as dessert or have it cold as breakfast. I would rate it 4.5 stars only because it lacks some wow factor that you get with more elaborate desserts but it is a real workhorse of a family dessert that is pretty healthy (can also substitute half to all whole wheat flour) and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This is such a great way to use Italian plums when they are in season! This was delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I'd never heard of clafouti before, but decided to give this a try because I have a tree full of plums. It reminded me of bread pudding and crepes... I thought it was very tasty. My in-laws have never eaten bread pudding, and they thought the clafouti was rather strange, but they were polite and ate it anyway. I ate some while it was hot and served it at room temp - they might have been more receptive if it was warm and with a scoop of icecream. Thanks for the recipe, Marion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Excellent. Everyone loved it. I used 1 tsp. almond and 1 tsp. vanilla. My husband said it is one of the best desserts I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Jacobsen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I thought this recipe was really good and SUPER easy. The only thing I might change is to cut the plums into smaller bite pieces. Other than that I thought this clafouti was great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong because I made this a day before and a served it cold. In any case, the plums were fine, but mixture around it was jelly-like and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is soooo good. I've never cooked plums before and never made a clafouti. Didn't even know what it was. But this is delicious. I didn't have lemon zest so left it out, but I don't think it made a big difference. It was just fine without. Next time I have a lot of extra plums, I'll make it again. And maybe even try other fruit. The clafouti is a kind of doughy custard, which may not sound appetizing, but don't let that put you off. This really is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This is by far the best recipe I have tried from this site. I used a real egg subsitute to cut fat and calories. Tasted great! Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Tasty even with skim milk. Used orange rind instead of lemon. Came out a bit watery from ripe plums. Tart like a rhubarb pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
My plums came out sour even with extra sugar & we couldn't eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States