Plum Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is soooo good. I've never cooked plums before and never made a clafouti. Didn't even know what it was. But this is delicious. I didn't have lemon zest so left it out, but I don't think it made a big difference. It was just fine without. Next time I have a lot of extra plums, I'll make it again. And maybe even try other fruit. The clafouti is a kind of doughy custard, which may not sound appetizing, but don't let that put you off. This really is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I made this for company and it was very easy and good. I did reduce the lemon peel as suggested. I liked that it wasn't too sweet and had a texture similar to creme caramel, which is a favourite. What made it really good was topping it with a plum sauce my husband made with our remaining fruit. He cooked pitted plums down with a bit of water and then sweetened it to taste. Served warm, it was divine. I actually made it again the next day, to see if it was that good, and it was. I am going to try this recipe using apples, brown sugar and a caramel sauce. Stay tuned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Made this for my family to use up some fresh plums and everyone LOVED it. I followed the recipe to the letter, incl. baking time and it was a perfect dessert--neither too sweet nor too tart. A perfect balance of flavor and texture and served warm with a dollop of whipped cream---HEAVEN. Will try with other fruits also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I make lots of this every August when my backyard plum tree is heavy with fruit. A generous slice with coffee is my perfect early-autumn breakfast. I don't usually have lemon zest around so I leave that (and the salt) out, and use only 4 tbl sugar total, and often substitute wholewheat or buckwheat or soy for half the flour, and it's always wonderful. Looking forward to trying it with herb-infused milk this year. Maybe rosemary. Thanks, Marion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This is so good and easy to make. Served to company with a scoop of vanilla ice cream which helps balance the tartness of the plums.I mixed the batter up earlier in the day and refrigerated it. Just cut and pit the plums before you sit down to dinner and pour the batter over and pop in the oven. Dessert is warm from the oven. This is a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
This is absolutely delicious served chilled with ice cream or english custard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Incredible! Tastes exactly like traditional French clafoutis but it's low fat! A definite keeper, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I'd never made or eaten clafouti before, so I can't rate it on authenticity. It was ok -- firmer than a custard and softer than a cake. Definitely needed more sugar in the batter. I don't like desserts that are too sweet, but this was barely sweet, and I even used tree-ripened home grown plums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This is my idea of a great dessert recipe. It was dead-easy to make and the end result tasted great. I used blueberries (about 1 cup of fresh) instead of plums and the lemon and blueberry flavour was a very good natural combination. Next time I make this, I will reduce the amount of vanilla though as it was very strong. Unfortunately, I overcooked it...so next time 55 minutes will be perfect I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodelicious
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Easy to make and fun to say. What's not to love about clafouti? It comes in somewhere between a custard and a pie and you can make it with cherries, plums, peaches, figs...whatever is fresh. I wonder how it would work with apples or pears this fall? Let's find out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States