Plum Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
SO simple & really yummy. We needed to use up some plums that a neighbor gave us and I made 3 "pies" like this...fantastic! I could have eaten an entire pie in 1 sitting...with or without ice cream this stuff is so good. And the fact that it only takes a few minutes to prep is great. Really does taste like bread pudding which is a big plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Frankfurt Am Main, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I had bought a mixture of plums at our local farmers market and decided to cook this recipe, to surprise my family, on Sat. Quite delicious, the cinnamon and lemon zest are a great addition to the custard. It was good the next evening too!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I liked it. However, my family didn't eat it and I had to finish most of it myself. It was nice to start a day with the a slice of clafouti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This is my idea of a great dessert recipe. It was dead-easy to make and the end result tasted great. I used blueberries (about 1 cup of fresh) instead of plums and the lemon and blueberry flavour was a very good natural combination. Next time I make this, I will reduce the amount of vanilla though as it was very strong. Unfortunately, I overcooked it...so next time 55 minutes will be perfect I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I have made this recipe for years, though I seldom use plums (only because I don't have a plum tree yet). Plain apple or combo's such as apple and berries (raspberries, saskatoons or blackberries all work well. If using berries, place them in the dish first or at least press them down below the surface of the liquid or they tend to burn. Tonight I've tried apple and rhubarb. I increased the sugar just a tad because of the rhubarb. We eat this warm as dessert or have it cold as breakfast. I would rate it 4.5 stars only because it lacks some wow factor that you get with more elaborate desserts but it is a real workhorse of a family dessert that is pretty healthy (can also substitute half to all whole wheat flour) and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This is such a great way to use Italian plums when they are in season! This was delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I'd never heard of clafouti before, but decided to give this a try because I have a tree full of plums. It reminded me of bread pudding and crepes... I thought it was very tasty. My in-laws have never eaten bread pudding, and they thought the clafouti was rather strange, but they were polite and ate it anyway. I ate some while it was hot and served it at room temp - they might have been more receptive if it was warm and with a scoop of icecream. Thanks for the recipe, Marion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Excellent. Everyone loved it. I used 1 tsp. almond and 1 tsp. vanilla. My husband said it is one of the best desserts I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Jacobsen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I thought this recipe was really good and SUPER easy. The only thing I might change is to cut the plums into smaller bite pieces. Other than that I thought this clafouti was great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Maybe I did something wrong because I made this a day before and a served it cold. In any case, the plums were fine, but mixture around it was jelly-like and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Panna Cotta

See how to make luscious, smooth, and creamy panna cotta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States