Plum Clafouti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
First time making one of these. Neighbor gave me some italian plums, tasted good, reminds me of bread pudding. Excellent for breakfast reheated just a bit in the microwave! Really easy to put together and cook. Looks very elegant when done. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I don't know what happened with this recipe, but it didn't turn out for me AT ALL! I am training as a pastry chef and the head pastry chef left this recipe for me. It is the only recipe to date that has been a total disaster. The servers wouldn't serve it - they wouldn't even EAT it!! It looked bad, had a horrible texture, and when I tasted it, it was really bland. I honestly don't know what happened - based on the other reviews it was probably human error - but I don't plan to try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Stunningly different! We had some plums that were getting a bit iffy. And this recipe turned them into something that my kids loved. My 14yo gave it 20 stars. Easy to make because you only use a blender to whirl the stuff up and pour it over the fruit that you've cut up into the pan. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Simple and quick to throw together, eagerly gobbled up by my family. What more can you ask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I'm so glad I gave this recipe a try; I'd never come across a baked good like this before, and wasn't sure what to expect. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and it was very easy to prepare. Warm from the oven, or room temperature - it was great. Thanks for sharing a winner! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Clafouti is a French dessert and can be used with other fresh fruits. My French mother-in-law always makes cherry clafouti's and they turn out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I think mine wasn't done quite enough. I gave it 50 minutes (at least) in the convection oven. Maybe I did something wrong along the way. It tasted great and the bottom was a really good pasty crust, but the whole thing didn't hold together too well. I used greengage plums which might be sweeter than the italian variety, so it was sweet enough without adding more sugar. I'd never heard of clafouti (nor had my dinner guests), so it was a little scary making it the first time, but it's worth it to try it again, since we have an abundance of plums this time of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Tasty recipe but it needed more sugar as my plums were very tart. This recipe is good but taste your plums raw before adjusting sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is so good and so easy. It looks and tastes like it came from an elegant French bakery! Adults loved it; kids not so much (because it's not super sweet and has a sophisticated texture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlisJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opheim, Montana, USA
Living In: Polson, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Excellent Clafouti. I made mine using fresh cherries. Yum!!! You can substitute with just about any fruit and it will come out delicious. The batter taste very custardy....delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States